Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2012, 08:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

installing 3 ton air condition


installing a 3 ton A/C in 1000 sf room with a 12" main how many vent will I need using 8" pipe for 1200 cfm


Last edited by winning; 07-30-2012 at 08:07 PM.
winning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 08:14 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: MD
Posts: 272
Default

installing 3 ton air condition


If you mean round duct.

12" main duct is not enough for 3 ton. 3 ton needs 1200 cfm and 12" only is only used to carry 600 crm. to answer your other question 8" carrys 200 cfm but if you attempt ot have a 12" main and your unit does not freeze you will have increased the staic pressure and no one would be able to tell you the capacity of an 8". If it has to be round duct main you will need a 16".
You could split the main duct equaly and have the 12" duct coming off a plenturm kind of forming a T. This is not the most skilled way but will work.

turnermech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 08:24 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,111
Default

installing 3 ton air condition


Sounds like a home work question to me. Have to love it when people use forums as search engines and never usually come back.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 08:38 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,325
Default

installing 3 ton air condition


Quote:
Originally Posted by winning View Post
installing a 3 ton A/C in 1000 sf room with a 12" main how many vent will I need using 8" pipe for 1200 cfm
none it won't work...
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2012, 08:38 PM   #5
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,756
Default

installing 3 ton air condition


3 ton for 1000 sf? Heat intensity, icky sticky.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (07-30-2012)
Old 07-30-2012, 08:50 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,052
Default

installing 3 ton air condition


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
3 ton for 1000 sf? Heat intensity, icky sticky.

LOL... Thats over sized even for your neck of the woulds.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (07-30-2012), Doc Holliday (07-30-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing new doors, floors, and trim. toobhed Windows and Doors 5 03-16-2012 02:21 PM
Installing vinyl fenching over chain link? rbove8 General DIY Discussions 3 05-02-2011 09:54 PM
Installing new wall receptacle... jaysen Electrical 18 06-10-2008 08:26 PM
Installing an island on floating engineered wood floor funktional Flooring 11 03-14-2008 06:19 AM
Installing laminate around doors??!! RonR Flooring 8 01-05-2008 07:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.