Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2012, 07:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Installed New Thermostat, Now No A/C


I installed a newer programable Hunter 44377 Thermostat from Lowes and we've been using the heat and it seemed to work fine but it hasn't been that cold here in north Texas lately. So today it was 80 degrees and I wanted to run the A/C. Well to my suprise it got hotter and hotter with warm air coming from the vents. I thought I wired the thermostat correctly but I guess not.

When I chose to run the A/C and not the heat the Unit outside turns on and runs and air comes out of the vents but it's warm air. Which wires should I swith on the thermostat to correct this problem.

Tejas TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 07:46 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Default

Installed New Thermostat, Now No A/C


I have an American Standart Heritage 10 Heat Pump unit.

Tejas TJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 07:47 PM   #3
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,031
Default

Installed New Thermostat, Now No A/C


Go back and look at the wiring at the thermostat and the furnace, to make sure that the colors match the terminals on both sides. As for the Hunter thermostat, it should work as long as you do not have a Heat pump.

On another note, Hunter thermostats are rated as the lowest in quality thermostats, which is why you will find that the Honeywell thermostats are the most recommended brand on this and other forums.
__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help replacing an OLD General Controls Thermostat ohman HVAC 3 06-08-2011 05:35 PM
Replacing old Honeywell thermostat with new Honeywell thermostat optimizer HVAC 13 04-20-2011 06:22 PM
Is it my furnace or my thermostat? Blows cold and can't shut it off TrilliumLady HVAC 6 12-16-2010 06:51 PM
Problem with Lennox Pulse Furnace Wiring to Thermostat scalvin Electrical 4 12-30-2009 07:48 PM
Replacing thermostat...................... sktn77a HVAC 6 09-02-2009 10:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.