Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 01-18-2009, 10:18 AM   #1

Share |

Install new vent/register into existing duct work?

I want to install a vent/outlet to an existing exposed Heat/AC duct that runs in my game room.

Can I just cut a hole? Using what? How hard is this to do?

The duct runs along one outside wall and empties upstairs in the piano room. I want to punch into is as it would dump heat/ac near our downstairs patio?

Here's a couple pics of the existing duct.

Jughead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 01:35 PM   #2

I am not experienced in HVAC by any means so take my advice with a grain of salt, but I have cut into ducts since I am finishing my basement right now. It is pretty easy to do if you have the right tools. I would say just go buy a register cover (vent) that you would like to use. Put it up against the duct and mark off the hole that you would need to cut. To get the cleanest cut I would use a die grinder and a cutting wheel (a dremel would work too but it would take a lot longer), then vacuum up the inside of the duct so it doesn't blow all your metal dust out into your room. The normal way would be too use tin snips (available at any hardware store) and drill a hole somewhere in your cut out to get the snips started then just start cutting with the snips until you have it all cut out. Start small though. Make sure you don't cut out too much because then the vent won't cover it up. Once you have the hole cut just screw the vent cover on.

epeterson777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2009, 01:56 PM   #3

Peter will be happy but Paul will be upset. Before stealing heat/ac from your system, you need to be sure your heating unit will be able to keep up. You may end up with a warm patio but a cold piano.
Old 01-19-2009, 05:13 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by epeterson777 View Post