Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-14-2011, 01:43 PM   #46
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Share |
Default

install line damage


If the condenser that is hooked to that Nordyne is a 14 seer than you are probably very close as it's a txv (thermostatic expansion valve) metering device so the coils seer rating matches the condenser, if all things are installed properly and the air flow is right.

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 02:41 PM   #47
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 35
Default

install line damage


doc -
I do not know What the SEER of this unit is...it is now 6 years old. How do I obtain SEER?

My new 2 ton unit is suppose to be a SEER 14...but dunno
krrgyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 03:03 PM   #48
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 35
Default

install line damage


Technow...don't no who you are or what u do but I find these internet sites to be the best thing to happen in a long time even for old schoolers like.

You know nothing about me or my situation but u can say its "buyers remorse"...."lowest bidder"....yur entitled to yur opinion but in my case these are far from true and accurate....if u care.

I will not go into my situation with my HVAC.

When I hire work/jobs to be performed I make it CRYSTAL clear that money is not the issue....proper work performed with industry standard protocols is all I expect. If they need more money for problems fine...I will happily pay....just get it right.

I take full responsibility for who I hired...it was a mistake. Instead of bashing me...a customer, why don't you offer advice or help.

I may have "Galled' you but your post, IMHO is very arrogant...

..."got what I paid for"....excuse me my new HVAC system does not work...it is falling apart, the work is not even shoddy its is total crap that I or someone else will completely tear out and redo...u want to help
krrgyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 03:29 PM   #49
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

install line damage


Quote:
Originally Posted by krrgyy View Post
doc -
I do not know What the SEER of this unit is...it is now 6 years old. How do I obtain SEER?

My new 2 ton unit is suppose to be a SEER 14...but dunno
Only if your condenser is a 14 seer will your coil compatabilty equal that. An evaporator coil does not use any form of electricity or mechanical components (outside of a txv and you don't have one, you have a fixed orifice) and seer or season energy efficieny ratio would be the blower motor watt usage and the condenser compressor and the condenser fan motor watts used. This means that if your condenser and blower are matched to the same size coil than your coil will help make your system as a whole that efficient, the efficiency of the condenser which is the main heart of all of it.

I need to know what the condenser seer rating is but from what I understand, that new coil is a 13 seer max rating.

The efficiency of air conditioners is often rated by the Seasonal Energy Efficiency Ratio (SEER) which is defined by the Air Conditioning, Heating and Refrigeration Institute in its standard ARI 210/240, Performance Rating of Unitary Air-Conditioning and Air-Source Heat Pump Equipment.[1]
The SEER rating of a unit is the cooling output in Btu (British thermal unit) during a typical cooling-season divided by the total electric energy input in watt-hours during the same period. The higher the unit's SEER rating the more energy efficient it is.
For example, consider a 5,000-British-thermal-unit-per-hour (1,500 W) air-conditioning unit, with a SEER of 10 BTU/Wh, operating for a total of 1000 hours during an annual cooling season (e.g., 8 hours per day for 125 days).
The annual total cooling output would be:
5000 BTU/h 8 h/day 125 days/year = 5,000,000 BTU/yearWith a SEER of 10, the annual electrical energy usage would be about:
5,000,000 BTU/year / 10 BTU/Wh = 500,000 Wh/yearThe average power usage may also be calculated more simply by:
Average power = (BTU/h) / (SEER) = 5000 / 10 = 500 WIf your electricity cost is 20/kWh, then your cost per operating hour is:
0.5 kW * 20/kWh = 10/h
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 03:34 PM   #50
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

install line damage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Technow View Post
It just Galls me on these internet sites that people come here and get all fired up about the shoddy workmanship and equipment when they picked the lowest bidder.
Atlanta, GA, like Florida, is not known for having very many good hvac techs/installers. Mostly hacks.

I think he said he was in Atlanta.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 03:47 PM   #51
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 35
Default

install line damage


Fayetteville, GA a suburb of Atlanta.

A different industry but..."Industry Standard Protocols" followed....

.................................................. ............
Very hard to find good help...thanks
krrgyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 04:34 PM   #52
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 435
Default

install line damage


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
Atlanta, GA, like Florida, is not known for having very many good hvac techs/installers. Mostly hacks.

I think he said he was in Atlanta.

[quote=krrgyy;667323]Fayetteville, GA a suburb of Atlanta.

There are good contractors there, i know one from another website......He's probably up about 4 from the bottom of the price.

A different industry but..."Industry Standard Protocols" followed....

.................................................. ............

Don't know what that is, in the hvac idustry there is (in varying increases in price):

1. No inspection needed
2. Bare minimum to pass code-pulled permit
3. Quality work done with no call backs
Technow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 04:52 PM   #53
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 35
Default

install line damage


sooo how does one determine SEER? Should I call the manfg.?

Again, this is what I have- new split system-

coil---


condenser/compressor---
.............................................
2006 replaced/installed 4 ton unit on main floor- (still working)

coil---


condenser/compressor
krrgyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 04:59 PM   #54
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 35
Default

install line damage


+
I really don't care what it costs with in reason. I live in Fayetteville, GA zip 30214.

Locally, I hear good things about Trinity Air. Any suggestions?

....................
Been looking at my 4 ton (2006 installed) main floor unit. It has really not me given any problems, however, from my "quick and dirty" internet research my 16" x 25" intake filter is most likely too small.

To rebuild this system I would be happy to pay a competent professional the "quality...no call back price" + I'll buy lunch.

Any help here?

Last edited by krrgyy; 06-14-2011 at 05:09 PM.
krrgyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 05:15 PM   #55
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

install line damage


krrgyy, check your private messages. Under your screename (top right of screen) there are the words "Private Messages" which is the link to read them.

I hope that helps out.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2011, 05:32 PM   #56
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Default

install line damage


Quote:
Originally Posted by krrgyy
sooo how does one determine SEER? Should I call the manfg.?

Again, this is what I have- new split system-

coil---

condenser/compressor---
.............................................
2006 replaced/installed 4 ton unit on main floor- (still working)

coil---

condenser/compressor
Take the model number of the outdoor unit, indoor coil and possibly the furnace and go to the Ari site. Enter the numbers and you can find out just what SEER your unit is. It didn't matter what either component alone says. Systems are rated together.
hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 11:51 AM   #57
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 35
Default

install line damage


Due to this site I was able to locate an local expert and both systems rebuilt and work fantastic. I will speak and post pictures later about success.

I have 2 questions-
1) 4 ton 6 year old unit...the txv valve sensing bulb was installed upside down...(now corrected) Is this a big deal?

2) The systems (brand new unit and 6 year old unit) I was informed had "contaminated" refrigerant. Previous installer says this is impossible and that they have never heard of such a thing. Is it possible and with poor quality install is it likely?

THX
krrgyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 12:24 PM   #58
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,064
Default

install line damage


Quote:
Originally Posted by krrgyy View Post
Due to this site I was able to locate an local expert and both systems rebuilt and work fantastic. I will speak and post pictures later about success.

I have 2 questions-
1) 4 ton 6 year old unit...the txv valve sensing bulb was installed upside down...(now corrected) Is this a big deal? NO. Valve is more accurate now but no harm done.

2) The systems (brand new unit and 6 year old unit) I was informed had "contaminated" refrigerant. Previous installer says this is impossible and that they have never heard of such a thing. Is it possible and with poor quality install is it likely?Absolutely YES. Hackers will have removed dirty freon from old systems and re-use it and have leftover dirty oil from other units in their hoses and add it to yours. The real dumb azzes will also add air to your system if they don't know how to purge their hoses properly and the list goes on an on and on.

THX

......
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 04:55 PM   #59
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

install line damage


Air and moisture are the most common contaminates. Not using a micron gauge when vacuum pumping means your guessing the system is dry.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 05:10 PM   #60
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 35
Default

install line damage


More info...
-Older system/R22...4 ton (13 seer?) used original line set.
-New system/R410...1.5 ton (14 seer) ran 80' new line.

Both were bad as indicated by erroneous and non correctable temp/pressure numbers when hooked up to gages...


Last edited by krrgyy; 08-01-2011 at 05:12 PM. Reason: clarity
krrgyy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can a roof vent identify where my main sewer line exits the house? YerDugliness Plumbing 8 01-26-2010 04:13 PM
1/4" water line install BlueBSH Plumbing 6 12-15-2009 09:59 AM
Replacing damaged BX line in kitchen wall fishnyc22 Electrical 5 02-17-2009 12:40 PM
My water line install to icemaker jrowny Plumbing 3 01-24-2009 02:32 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.