Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2007, 09:16 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Share |
Unhappy

Install Fasco Inducer Model A242


Hi Gang,
I need to install a Fasco Inducer on a high-efficiency Rheem furnace.

Funny story, the old one got rats in it during the summer. Thought they were only in the PVC exhaust and condensation pipe which I replaced. I discovered them because the house smelled terrible.
Anyway, some made it all the way into the inducer and died and rusted it out. I couldn't figure out why the furnace wouldn't turn on, so called a serviceman who found the second batch of rats.

The furnace is a Rheem Imperial 90 plus. Probably 20 years old.

The original inducer is a Fasco no. 7021-7150. I have a replacement - Fasco model #a242, 7021-11707.

I was a little surprised when I received the replacement. I thought the original had some low voltage wires connected to it that in turn connect to a panel on the front of the furnace. Indeed there are low voltage wires still on the furnace.

However, the replacement inducer does not have a place to connect the wires. There is only a ground wire and two power wires (black and white).

Any thoughts? I can send pictures if you think they can help..
morrelld97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2007, 07:40 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 3
Default

Install Fasco Inducer Model A242


No thoughts yet? OK, I have pics.

In one picture you will note that there is a small rubber tube that is disconnected. There is a small tube protrubing from the inducer that it seems logical to connect this to, however the tube is too narrow to fit over it.

There are also 2 red wires (with black electrical tape covering the ends) that should be connected to something. I know there is a panel next to the inducer with 2 connectors that should have some component attached to it.

There is a 3rd wire that is totally disconnected from anything hanging there as well. Any help appreciated.
Link to pics:
http://picasaweb.google.com/morrell....rFurnaceIssues






Last edited by morrelld97; 10-03-2007 at 08:00 PM. Reason: issue with getting pic attached
morrelld97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Inducer installation / modification ... caseywa HVAC 26 12-06-2010 01:50 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.