Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-13-2008, 08:28 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8
Share |
Default

Inside Unit Runs, Outside Unit Runs (with help) no cold air


Okay, last night noticed the inside air handler was running but the outside unit was not except for a hum coming from the unit and the top was hot. Turned the entire system off so it could cool off, I wasn't sure what the problem was.
This morning, turned the system on and the same issue. I gave the blades a tap on the outside unit a tap and they started turning. However, even after the unit has been running for about an hour there is still not cool air coming through the vents inside.
Intially I thought it was the motor or cap, which it still may be. However, now it seems like there is something else wrong also. Should I hear the compressor running if the motor is not running the fan still?

Any input is appreciated.
Thanks

beakon20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 08:31 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Inside Unit Runs, Outside Unit Runs (with help) no cold air


Another item I forgot to mention is when I get the fan started, it doesn't seem to run as fast as it normally would. Could this affect the performance of the unit also?

Up until yesterday the unit worked very well and the inside air coming from the unit was cool.

beakon20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 12:56 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Inside Unit Runs, Outside Unit Runs (with help) no cold air


I think I have narrowed it down to the capacitor. Seems the cap is for both the condensor fan and the compressor. Ordered a new capacitor and see what that will do.

Sounds like condensor is trying to start also but cannot.
beakon20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 04:14 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 152
Default

Inside Unit Runs, Outside Unit Runs (with help) no cold air


definitly the capacitor
geo fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 09:33 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 8
Default

Inside Unit Runs, Outside Unit Runs (with help) no cold air


Replaced the cap and fixed the problem. I was able to find the part locally so fixed the same day.
beakon20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ouside Unit on. Inside Fan off mycuss HVAC 5 08-04-2008 08:01 PM
cold water runs hot phxhouser Plumbing 4 06-11-2008 09:03 PM
Any Ideas? My AC Unit isn't coming on, inside or out? Signme001 HVAC 5 05-20-2008 09:14 PM
new ( to me ) house... cold inside, warm outside... what's the deal? MrLinux General DIY Discussions 7 02-13-2008 08:33 PM
AC Unit Continuously Runs - yet it is cooling reefland HVAC 4 06-17-2007 07:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.