Inducer Vacuum Problem - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-20-2009, 02:12 PM   #16
Excavation Co. Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Inducer Vacuum Problem


Hello Yuri,
I have actually done both. First I replaced the whole thing, then I swapt the motors. Still nothing.

Advertisement

RobertCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 02:15 PM   #17
Excavation Co. Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Inducer Vacuum Problem


oop's I forgot to add, on the upper left side of the motor there is a 4 inch long hose that goes to a vacuum switch. That is the vacuum line that dose not vacuum enough. If it had a tad more vacuum than it does, everthing would be fine.
RobertCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 02:25 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Inducer Vacuum Problem


where are your wires for the pressure switch?
bervin306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 02:31 PM   #19
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,113
Rewards Points: 864
Default

Inducer Vacuum Problem


Yah, where are the wires, jumpered out? Extremely dangerous to run jumpered out, that switch proves proper air for combustion and without it you can get flamerollout/CO/poor combustion/soot buildup etc. That is a differential pressure switch and you must be VERY close to the tripping point with the old motor. No 2 motors will have the exact same rpm and you may have to try 6 of them to match your old one. I had a Ducane with 50 less rpm and it would not work (OEM vs aftermarket one). I suspect your REAL problem is a faulty pressure switch or vacuum leak(s) from the gasket on the back of the inducer or the tape job etc. Try put gear clamps on all the vacuum hose connections or cinch them up tight with electricians zip ties/tie wraps. Does not take much of a leak to lose enough vacuum to trip the switch. Or you have a venting problem or cracked heat exchanger or drainage problem. All which affect the draft.

Last edited by yuri; 12-20-2009 at 02:39 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2009, 04:24 PM   #20
Excavation Co. Owner
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Quebec, Canada
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Inducer Vacuum Problem


I bypassed the wires for a few while i took the photo so i could get heat into the house. I did test the vacuum from the switch with a vacuum pump, it does not leak down. The moto is an original replacement.
Though I will check for a venting problem???
Thanks...
RobertCan
RobertCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2009, 12:33 AM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 37
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Inducer Vacuum Problem


Yeah don't bypass the switch it is ther for a reason.

The switch is not pulling in for a reason. If the motor is the same as the old. Check, most of them have a gasket between the motor and cabinet. If you don't have the gasket you can put a bead of high temp silicone on it to seal it. Also some inducer have restrictor plates installed in them.

Other things that would cause the switch not to pull in is a clogged drain, exhaust flue, or intake also a hose leak or poor connection.

The pressure switch should have a rating on it in inches of w.c. With a manometer you can see what it is pulling. You may have a bad switch which can be determined with the proper tools.

But please don't bypass the safety switches it is not worth you life or property for the cost of a service call. It's not making for a reason and you need to find out why.
bervin306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 04:20 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Inducer Vacuum Problem


Have you found the cause?

Advertisement

Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Weed problem, bug problem, or both? hayzen Landscaping & Lawn Care 1 08-25-2009 07:33 PM
Tempstar pilot not lighting after draft inducer replacement Kdavid HVAC 53 03-27-2009 03:10 PM
How do I test my draft inducer? ryansturmer HVAC 9 10-20-2008 08:41 PM
Stymied by window leakage problem. Matth3w General DIY Discussions 5 06-11-2008 07:26 PM
Post-Tension Slab Problem Advice/Help Mike McBride Building & Construction 2 01-09-2007 02:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts