Inducer Motor Will Not Start - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-12-2012, 08:30 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

inducer motor will not start


I have a ducane furnace with a honeywell board. The hvac repair guy said the board was bad, so I put in a new one with the same result. If i supply power to the inducer motor I can get the furnace to run. Then turn the thermostat off and is shuts down. Thermostat back on and nothing happens until i jump in some power to the inducer fan.

Advertisement

mwick9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2012, 08:37 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,465
Rewards Points: 4,576
Default

inducer motor will not start


Could be an open roll out switch.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 12:40 AM   #3
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,550
Rewards Points: 616
Default

inducer motor will not start


Do you have a flashing diagnostic led on the board that is giving you a code for what is wrong in the furnace? If its behind a door with a kill switch, tape the switch shut so you can open the door after the next lockout without shutting off the diagnostic led code.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 07:40 AM   #4
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Rewards Points: 500
Default

inducer motor will not start


Is that a Smartvalve?
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 08:57 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

inducer motor will not start


There are two role out switches and a pressure switch on one circuit. Both role outs are closed and the pressure switch is open at the start of sequence. Once I make the inducer fan come on, the pressure switch closes, completing this circuit and allowing the burner to fire up.

I am not sure what is meant by the smart switch. Is the part of the gas valve? How would I troubleshoot it? Can it control the inducer fan being turned on?

If the thermostat is closed. When plug in the furnace, the control board gives 3 quick blinks, then goes to a constant bright heartbeat.

If the thermostat is open, it goes straight to the bright heartbeat. When I close the thermostat at this point, the heartbeat does not change, but I hear a click in the furnace.

To get the furnace to come on, I have moved one of the wires on the control board from the blower that should on an "UNUSED" pin the the "HUM" pin that seems to be tied to the "IND" pin. Then I pull the wire off of the limit control sensor, indicating overheating. This turns on the blower motor and now the inducer motor will come on. Replacing the wire on the limit switch make the furnace happy and allows the gas to come on and the furnace to fire up.
mwick9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 09:21 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

inducer motor will not start


Wouldn't be the first time in history that a part was bad right out of the box. Double check that everything is wired correctly and there are no loose connections. If that's all good then it sounds like you got a defective board.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 12:38 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

inducer motor will not start


Does anyone know if a smart valve issue could prevent the inducer fan from starting?
mwick9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 01:42 PM   #8
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 500
Default

inducer motor will not start


Quote:
Originally Posted by mwick9 View Post
Does anyone know if a smart valve issue could prevent the inducer fan from starting?
If you have a smart valve that has a blue head, chances are the inducer is wired to it and the vale could be intermittent. Again, assuming yours is wired this way.

Last edited by hvac5646; 01-13-2012 at 01:44 PM.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2012, 09:38 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,624
Rewards Points: 2,562
Default

inducer motor will not start


picture of furnace with door off would help...
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 08:52 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

inducer motor will not start


Does the EFT on the SV9501 smartvalve control turning on the inducer?
Attached Images
 
mwick9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 09:05 AM   #11
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 500
Default

inducer motor will not start


This is a 24v smart valve system. The inducer is activated from the control board. The valve is activated separately.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2012, 03:42 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

inducer motor will not start


I put the old control board back in and everything works. I'll give the hvac guy who diagnosed that the control board was bad and assume it may be intermittent and that the new board was doa.

Thanks for all your help!!

Advertisement

mwick9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Draft Inducer Squealing Noise rbh123456789 HVAC 9 01-05-2012 01:37 PM
American Standard intermittent inducer problem with presssure switch warning no such user HVAC 5 12-26-2011 06:20 PM
Inducer motor had been squeaking OhDamn HVAC 5 12-17-2009 10:19 PM
inducer fan runs constantly tibsmandu HVAC 3 11-29-2009 12:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts