Inducer And Ignitor Starts But No Gas - HVAC - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2009, 06:28 PM   #31
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


Quote:
Originally Posted by hansim4 View Post
I called a technician today and he checked out the unit. He put camera inside the unit and told me that there are cracks on heat exchanger. Luckily, mine is under warranty so I just have to pay for the labor. However, he said they charge $125 an hour with min 6 hours of work. That means, it's min $750. Is this a reasonable price? He said work will only take about 4 hours but they are required to work or charge for 6 hours due to requirement from Goodman. Can this be really true? I am just not sure if this is a going price these for installing a heat exchanger.

Thanks for everyone's help.

I couldn't sleep at night screwing a customer like that. $125 p/hr WOW!!

$50-65 around here and people wonder why our economy is so screwed up

Advertisement

Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 06:34 PM   #32
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,571
Rewards Points: 4,780
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


A fair number areas are at $250.00

If they weren't, they couldn't pay their techs enough to live within 100 miles of their service areas.

65 is cheap around here.

I charge $75.00 just to tell you whats wrong.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 07:52 PM   #33
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


I called Goodman and they confirmed that there is not such thing as min hours... I called back the technician he now tells me that he really needs 6 hours to install. I was unhappy with his answer but what can I do? I called few more places but they all told me that they can't give me prices over the phone. They have to come to my place to check it out. For that, everyone was charging $90-$130 just to come and inspect. I figure that they are all the same. I just called my first technician and placed the order. $750 is a lot of money but I am not sure other places are any better. I even skipped my work today for this and didn't want to miss any more days. I may be overpaying but if this is going rate, I don't really have any choices.

I wish some of you guys are near my place so you can do it for much cheaper. Time to move out of New Jersey!

Thanks all for your help. It was very stressful few days but I am glad to know that there are still people who are willing help others.

Take care.
hansim4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 08:04 PM   #34
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,571
Rewards Points: 4,780
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


One option.
Is to take the heat exchanger credit, and put is towards a new furnace.
If you get one that qualifies for the tax credit, you then get a credit of 30% up to 1500 dollars of install price.
Its only on qualifying units.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 08:16 PM   #35
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber101 View Post
I couldn't sleep at night screwing a customer like that. $125 p/hr WOW!!

$50-65 around here and people wonder why our economy is so screwed up

60-65 per hr rate around here after a $50.00 service call charge
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 02:02 PM   #36
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


I have one follow up question.

It's been 2 weeks since we installed new heat exchanger and things are working fine. However, I am noticing ticking or popping sounds from heat exchanger when the flame goes out after the cycyle. The sound is not that loud but it's loud enough to be annoying. It also stops after 5 or 6 poppings.

So, I called back the technician and he came by to inspect. He said that sound is definitely coming from the new heat exchanger but said it's normal for the new heat exchanger to do this. The sound is coming from the metal shrinking when the flame goes out.

Is this really true? I am actually little disappointed that I have to live with this noise for awhile. He said it may not go away for few years.

If anyone knows, please let me know if this is really true or if I need to get a second opinion from someone else.

Thanks again.
hansim4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 02:14 PM   #37
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,571
Rewards Points: 4,780
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


Its true that its an expansion noise.

But, if that tech calls factory tech support. They will tell him how to get rid of it.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2009, 10:02 PM   #38
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


let me ask 2 more questions:

1) Is this harmful to my furnace? Can this cause any issues later?
2) Does the sound go away after awhile?

The technician is saying that as there is nothing wrong, except for the sound, it does not require additional work. My guess is that it's probably a lot of work so he does not want to do....

Last edited by hansim4; 03-30-2009 at 10:51 PM.
hansim4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 06:28 AM   #39
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,571
Rewards Points: 4,780
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


Its not harmfull.

It may or may not go a way in a couple years.

Your tech doesn't have to hear the noise, so he doesn't care.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2009, 06:31 AM   #40
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,571
Rewards Points: 4,780
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


The poping noise, may indicate a problem.

Poping noise is usually caused by a heat exchanger being over heated. Possibaly from low air flow.

Check the temp rise.
If need be, you can check the closest supply and return registers for their temp.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 11:16 AM   #41
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


This thing never ends. I have some follow up questions.

I called technician back and he couldn't find any issues. He checked the input and output temperatures and they looked fine. After spending 2 hours, he said they may have to replace the heating unit again as popping noise continues when the flame goes out. Few days later, they sent another technician who did another check-up. After measuring my house, he said that my furnace is over-sized for my house. My house has about 1200sq of living space and my furnace is 100,000 btu. He said the furnace is over-sized which is the reason for the popping noise. As this is not their fault, they said that they will not replace the heat exchanger for me.

Here are my issues. I live in large townhouse complex where there are 600 other units with same furnace and same house sizes. Also, I lived here for about 8 years now without any problems. Is my furnace really over-sized for my house? If it is, why aren't my neighbors having the same issues? Also, I didn't have any popping noise for past 8 years. I think they just don't want to do it so they are just giving me some excuses but I don't know what to do. Any idea what I should do? I spend $90 for initial checkup and $750 for the heat exchange installation. I am thinking about reporting them to BBB but want to check with you guys before I do it.

Please let me know if anyone has any idea on what I can do here.

Thanks for the help!
hansim4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 12:06 PM   #42
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,571
Rewards Points: 4,780
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


Have them call tech support.

There is a procedure that they can do to make it stop.

Remind them, they should have checked for size problems before they replaced the heat exchanger.

A part shouldn't be replaced without makuing an attempt to determine what caused it to fail.

A heat exchanger that fails due toover heating, is usually easy to tell, by the distortions caused by over heating.

Remind them. That if they had told you the furnace was oversized. You could have taken the heat exchanger allowance and put it toward the installation of a properly sized one.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 12:45 PM   #43
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,137
Rewards Points: 912
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


Before you call the BBB call Goodman and explain the story to them. They may sympathize with you and lean on the dealer. Bad publicity they want to avoid as their products and reputation are starting to get better now that Amana took over.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 12:51 PM   #44
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,571
Rewards Points: 4,780
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
now that Amana took over.
Amana took over???

Goodman bought Amana.
And incorporated a lot of Amana's technology.
Last I knew, Goodman called the shots though.

I could be wrong though.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2009, 01:09 PM   #45
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,137
Rewards Points: 912
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


Not sure who took over who. Amana very good, Goodman not so good IMO.

Advertisement

yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts