Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-15-2009, 05:28 PM   #16
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Share |
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


Yes, I ave only had one time in 15 yrs that the switch was bad.

The limit tripping is caused by either the limit bad or more than likely excessive heat coming out of the heat exchanger. Below are likely causes.

You could have a few things wrong

1. Gas valve over supplying gas to the burners
2. Restricted heat exchanger
3. Cracked heat exchanger
4. Bad roll out limit

At this point I would advise you to call a pro to check this out. If the gas pressure is to high then you are over heating. If you have an issue with the heat exchange you may be releasing carbon monoxide into you home.

Either way a $50 or so service call is cheaper than the out come of the above.


Hope this helps


Last edited by Plumber101; 03-15-2009 at 05:33 PM.
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 06:39 PM   #17
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,073
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


Goodmans had lots of heat exchanger failures with popped compression rings so it should be checked properly by a experienced tech.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 08:06 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


Thanks for the replies once again. I have asked someone to come and check the unit. However, as he is currently out of town, he won't be able to come till next Sunday. Until then, I am not sure what I should do. The unit is working fine for past few hours now.

If it is heat exchanger problem, would my unit stop working again in the near future? I will go out tomorrow to buy a carbon monoxide detector to be safe but I am not sure if I should use my heating unit until I fix it or at least find out the issue.

If it is gas valve over supplying gas, how can I check this? I have not touched the valve ever since I moved in to this house which was 7 yrs ago. Should I turn the valve just a little to reduce the gas?

Last year, I had an issue with flame sensor. After I cleaned it with sand paper, it's been working fine. I am not sure if these issues are related...
hansim4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 08:16 PM   #19
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


I would get a CO monitor and run it at the lowest setting you can.

If the limit trips again I'd call your buddy and see if he can get there sooner.

Checking gas pressure requires a manometer to check pressure. I'd say Yuri hit it on the head and the heat exchanger has popped a ring.

At this point my advise to you is let a pro take a look at it.

If it is over fueling some times it sounds like a train..really loud.
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 08:22 PM   #20
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,552
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


CO2 detectors are false security blankets.

While I agree, everyone should have one, that has a fuel burning device in their home.

They won't go off until the CO2 level hits 70, and then I believe its got to be that high for 3 hours.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 08:23 PM   #21
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


If the roll out switch is located on the metal shield by the burners. I have had this happen on several goodmans. Goodman told me that over time that the burner crossovers will warp due to heat causing the crossovers to open wider allowing more flame at the crossovers. This also applies more heat to the metal shield around the burners where the roll out switches are located causing them to trip.The fix was to replace burners or, squeeze the crossovers together a little to cut down on the flame at the crossovers.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 09:01 PM   #22
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,073
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


My favorite way to check that problem and works especially well for all the shot ICP kugs,nugs, etc is to put my stick thermometer by the rollout switch and start the burner. If after 2-3 minutes, once the fan starts, then the temp rises quickly to 300 the heat exchanger is cracked as the air is forcing thru the crack and blowing the flame out the front. And yes, hansim it can be dangerous. I would pick up some cheap $20 fan heaters from HDepot to get you by safely until your tech checks it. Better safe than sorry. CO detectors are more designed for major spillage from blocked chimneys etc and not for detecting small amounts. An accurate one would cost over $200.

Last edited by yuri; 03-15-2009 at 09:05 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 09:24 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


I guess I will have to call someone else to come earlier. I am just not sure who to call. I live in central NJ. Any recommendations?

If heat exchanger is the issue, would the unit be still running? My unit has been running without a problem for about 5 hours now. Can the unit run with heat exchanger problem?
hansim4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 09:40 PM   #24
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


I would look in the phone book and start from the top of the list. Good thing is that this isn't peak season. Ask them if they can check for CO. Some can some can't expensive little machine. If in dout most gas companies will come and check it for free..but will shut it down if high levels are found.

Yuri posted a method with a thermometer..I have done this as well.

Cheap space heaters are not a bad thing and cheap insurance for that next breath. Don't wig..just take it serious.
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 09:43 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


Two more questions..

For few months, I forgot to clean the air filter. I have this reusable filter that can be washed so I finally cleaned it 2 weeks ago. Can dirty filter cause this problem?

Also, during the day, my wife closes all vents on upstairs as she and the babies stay downstairs. Can closing all vents on upstairs cause problems? Should we leave few of them open?
hansim4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 09:48 PM   #26
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


No this is not what caused this issue, Heck man it might just be a fluke but better to be safe than sorry. I have replace many exchangers because of this its just an age thing, a manufacturing thing or it is what it is and it is just time.

If it was the filter it would have been the high limit

Leaving some of the vents upstairs is always good..
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 10:23 PM   #27
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,552
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


Closing all the supplies on the second floor can cause the heat exchanger to over heat, and pop the crimp rings.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 01:02 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


I called a technician today and he checked out the unit. He put camera inside the unit and told me that there are cracks on heat exchanger. Luckily, mine is under warranty so I just have to pay for the labor. However, he said they charge $125 an hour with min 6 hours of work. That means, it's min $750. Is this a reasonable price? He said work will only take about 4 hours but they are required to work or charge for 6 hours due to requirement from Goodman. Can this be really true? I am just not sure if this is a going price these for installing a heat exchanger.

Thanks for everyone's help.
hansim4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 02:46 PM   #29
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,073
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


Look up Goodman manufacturing on the net
http://www.goodmanmfg.com/ and phone them and ask them. http://www.goodmanmfg.com/Home/About...6/Default.aspx
Would be terrible PR public relations for them if true. Get a case# and the name of who you talked to. If the tech insists on 6 hrs he is ripping you off and call someone else. Labor rates very greatly from city to city.state to state. Try use a larger reputable company and don't try save $$ on the rate or they may do a hack job.
Glad you and the kids are safe.

Last edited by yuri; 03-16-2009 at 03:01 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2009, 03:03 PM   #30
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,552
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


No min charge by Goodman.

His company charges that.

And having a min charge is not real uncommon.

Goodman does have a max time they will pay a contractor for, when they are paying for the labor.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.