Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-15-2009, 02:08 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Share |
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


I am having a problem with my heating unit. The board is GMP100-3. When I turn on the heating unit, the inducer motor starts, ignitor glows and then nothing happens. The gas will not flow in to start and ignitor turns off and whole thing stops. This repeats for 3 times and then systems shuts down. I do hear few clicks during this cycle. What can possibly be the problem? Can anyone help??

hansim4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 02:15 PM   #2
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


What is the flash code on the control board?

Once you find it find the code chart and post the results.

Is this a 80 or 90+ % furnace?

Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 02:30 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


It gives one blink which means problem with gas flow, gas pressure, gas valve or flame sensor. I did clean flame sensor with sand papers but didn't make any difference...

I am not sure what 80 or 90+% means. Can I look up this some where?
hansim4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 02:34 PM   #4
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


do you have the means to check voltage at the gas valve ?? 80% 90% is the efficienty of the furnace
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 02:36 PM   #5
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


Quote:
Originally Posted by hansim4 View Post
It gives one blink which means problem with gas flow, gas pressure, gas valve or flame sensor. I did clean flame sensor with sand papers but didn't make any difference...

I am not sure what 80 or 90+% means. Can I look up this some where?
Is the flue pipe metal or plastic?

Is this Natural gas or propane?
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 02:38 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


It's natural gas for sure. What is flue pipe?

I asked my friend to bring a voltage meter so I can check this. Once I have the voltage meter, what should I do with it? What should be the correct voltage? If it's not correct, then how can I fix it?

Sorry for asking so many questions and thanks for everyone's help in advance.
hansim4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 02:43 PM   #7
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


The flue pipe is connected to the vent motor. You should have around 24 ac volts at the gv b-4 it opens
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 02:43 PM   #8
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


Bare with me..look at the gas valve and tell me how many wires are going to it and if you can the terminal lettering.

What you need to do basically is take the black lead to ground and the red lead to each of the terminals to see if voltage is getting to the valve and though the valve windings.

The voltage is approx 24-27 vac
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 02:56 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


There are 2 wires connected to gas valve. One is purple wire hooked to slot with V and P letters on the left side and 1 and 3 numbers on the right. The other wire is blue and is hooked to slot with letter C on left and number 2 on right..

BTW, my flue pipe is metal.

Last edited by hansim4; 03-15-2009 at 03:04 PM.
hansim4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 03:11 PM   #10
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


Ok

Take the black lead and go to ground..Anything metal on the furnace

Take the red lead and go to the V terminal. Set the meter to AC voltage so that it will read 0-100

Have your buddy turn up the stat and make a call for heat.

On the first try for ignition measure the V terminal - Purple wire

On the second try for ignition measure the C terminal - Blue wire

Post results

If you have power on both terminals then you have a bad gas valve

If you have power on the purple wire but not on the blue wire. Then you will want to remove both wires and measure in ohms between the two terminals for continuity. If there is no continuity then you have a bad valve. If you have no power to the valve you may have a bad control board.
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 03:43 PM   #11
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


Sorry, I got typing to fast.

If you have voltage in and out of the valve then you need to check gas pressure to the valve before replacing the valve.
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 04:23 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


I found the problem. The purple wire had connector on top cover of the burner. It had no voltage. However, it also had a reset button. When I pressed the reset button and check the voltage again, it worked. I turned the unit on and everything works fine.

Thanks so much for your help. It's nice to know that there are people like you who will help others.

Take care and keep up the good work!!!
hansim4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 04:26 PM   #13
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


Quote:
Originally Posted by hansim4 View Post
I found the problem. The purple wire had connector on top cover of the burner. It had no voltage. However, it also had a reset button. When I pressed the reset button and check the voltage again, it worked. I turned the unit on and everything works fine.

Thanks so much for your help. It's nice to know that there are people like you who will help others.

Take care and keep up the good work!!!

Was this button you pressed on a disc type devise?

This could be a roll out limit switch and may be indicating that you have another problem.
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 04:34 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


The purple wire from gas valve goes to side cover of the unit first. From there, it goes to top cover of the unit and then to the board. On top of the cover, it has a small unit with tiny rectangular button on top and 2 flat metal pieces on the side. The purple wires are connected to these 2 small flat metal pieces by sliding them into the metal, similar to way we connect USB devices to USB ports in computer.

How do I find out if there are other problems?? Is there any other tests I can do to check?
hansim4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2009, 05:04 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 20
Default

Inducer and Ignitor starts but no gas


I googled flame rollout switch and you are right, it is flame rollout switch that I pressed. The unit is working fine right now but should I be concerned here?

hansim4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.