Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-12-2011, 02:44 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 29
Share |
Default

Inducer Fan Not Turning On


Yes the wire or wires from motor to the control board. Clamp around only one of those wires with the system energized. You should have something if the motor has voltage. By the way the discoloration on the board is common around resistors and capacitors. When they go bad they have burnt spots the pic didn't look all that bad.

thestig3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 03:00 PM   #17
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,627
Default

Inducer Fan Not Turning On


so the motor runs with sucking on the PS but that isn't the sequence might be something thru the boars can somebody kick in that so the motor runs the pix is showing the atmospheric side of the unit basement temps no heat is rising there it all is going out with the ID presurizing the chamber.....so the motor was hot afttr 10 seconf soo hot you couldn't keep your hand on it?if so the motor is going off on internal thermal so it needs change out.call for the heat with the motor cool tell back if you get a sequence start to heat forget the readings and the meter might be worn bearings doe it spin free or does it brake after spin attempt....if the motor ran even with the PS tube trick the board is supplying 115V as should .....but maybe somebody can enlighten me on why it controls the ID should be the other way around
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 03:17 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 34
Default

Inducer Fan Not Turning On


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
so the motor runs with sucking on the PS but that isn't the sequence might be something thru the boars can somebody kick in that so the motor runs the pix is showing the atmospheric side of the unit basement temps no heat is rising there it all is going out with the ID presurizing the chamber.....
Not really sure what all that means.....I guess?

Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
so the motor was hot afttr 10 seconf soo hot you couldn't keep your hand on it?
I'd have to fire it up again to see, want me to do that?


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
if so the motor is going off on internal thermal so it needs change out
So the motor would be bad? Are you saying the motor needs replacing if it's too hot to touch?

Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
.call for the heat with the motor cool tell back if you get a sequence start to heat
I might be misunderstanding you but when I turn up the thermostat and make the call for heat, nothing happens. No clicks, no motor, no relays, no flame. Nothing. The only thing I do get is 4 blinks out of the light on the control board indicating "Control is in lockout due to air not circulating (overheated)." But this doesn't make any sense, the unit's cold from being off all night (even the breaker is flicked off in the wall panel), and it doesn't even attempt to start up. When I turn the furnace back on, I get these 4 blinks less than 1 second later. And it's not continuous, only once.

Also after about 10 seconds I get the 2 blink code from the furnace itself, telling me the pressure switch is open and it should be closed. Same thing that started this mess.


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
forget the readings and the meter might be worn bearings doe it spin free or does it brake after spin attempt....
The inducer fan? Spins pretty freely if I stick a screwdriver in through the grille and flick it. I can tell it's not completely resistance free, it does slow down kind of half fast but it definitely doesn't come to a dead stop. It seems to me like it spins fine.

Thanks for continuing to help me out, sorry I'm having trouble understanding some of this.
Deemar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 03:27 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 1,990
Default

Inducer Fan Not Turning On


Biggles, your messages (helpful) would be a lot easier to understand if you threw in a period now and then. They are no cost on my keyboard.
bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to bob22 For This Useful Post:
Deemar (10-12-2011), Doc Holliday (10-12-2011), JJboy (10-12-2011)
Old 10-12-2011, 10:30 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,293
Default

Inducer Fan Not Turning On


this may sound different but trace orange hose from pressure switch to draft inducer to small nipple take off hose and clean this port and start over see if works after you start system....pressure switch must reset after each cycle
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 10:46 PM   #21
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 34
Default

Inducer Fan Not Turning On


Quote:
Originally Posted by ben's plumbing View Post
this may sound different but trace orange hose from pressure switch to draft inducer to small nipple take off hose and clean this port and start over see if works after you start system....pressure switch must reset after each cycle
I read this on another forum so I already tried that and was looking around for something skinny to poke into the hole.....at my feet was a 12 inch piece of copper wire with the perfect diameter to fit in there. Obviously this has happened to the previous owners before I guess. So I stuck the wire in and it went in an inch. I pushed in and out as hard as I could while trying not to bend the wire and it now goes in about 2 inches before hitting something. I kept jamming it in and out as hard as I could but the wire kept bending so I assume that's as far as it'll go? 2 inches? Is that what you mean and did I do it right?
Deemar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 11:02 PM   #22
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,623
Default

Inducer Fan Not Turning On


I don't think you can get around replacing the inducer motor.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 11:18 PM   #23
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Inducer Fan Not Turning On


I think you need to measure all safety switches first

http://s3.pexsupply.com/manuals/1257..._PROD_FILE.pdf
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 11:26 PM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 34
Default

Inducer Fan Not Turning On


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
I don't think you can get around replacing the inducer motor.
Do you know for sure it's toast? How do I tell?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
I think you need to measure all safety switches first

http://s3.pexsupply.com/manuals/1257..._PROD_FILE.pdf
I got the physical copy of that here in my hands. What do you mean by measuring safety switches?
Deemar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 11:31 PM   #25
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Inducer Fan Not Turning On


Quote:
Originally Posted by Deemar View Post
Do you know for sure it's toast? How do I tell?



I got the physical copy of that here in my hands. What do you mean by measuring safety switches?
The safety switches ( limit switch, roll-out ) are in series. If one switch is open, furnace won't start

Do you have multimeter? why did you replace controller board?
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 11:32 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 34
Default

Inducer Fan Not Turning On


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
The safety switches ( limit switch, roll-out ) are in series. If one switch is open, furnace won't start
Yes, thank you....where are these?
Deemar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2011, 11:36 PM   #27
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Inducer Fan Not Turning On


Quote:
Originally Posted by Deemar View Post
Yes, thank you....where are these?
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.

Last edited by JJboy; 10-13-2011 at 12:14 AM.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 12:15 AM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 34
Default

Inducer Fan Not Turning On


I just checked Google to see what they look like, apparently the limit switch doesn't affect the lighting, only turns off the gas after a few seconds if they are open. I looked for a reset button on the roll out switch but I really don't think there is one. I see nothing that looks like a button resembling a nickle.

If you'll give me 10 minutes, I'm just uploading a video to YouTube. It shows everything.

Last edited by Deemar; 10-13-2011 at 12:18 AM.
Deemar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 12:22 AM   #29
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

Inducer Fan Not Turning On


Sounds good, but to test these components are not that bad
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2011, 12:31 AM   #30
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 34
Default

Inducer Fan Not Turning On


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
Sounds good, but to test these components are not that bad
Thanks for hanging around and posting those pictures. The inducer connectors are nice and tight. The limit switch is in the ON position, I even flicked if off and on again. And the roll out is actually that thermal thing that hangs in front of the flame to tell the furnace if it lit or not. I cleaned that thing off last fall, that was the last issue I had, it was dirty and not reading right so the flame used to go out after a few seconds.

Here's the video I took, please help!


Deemar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Plus 90 398AAZ inducer motor PCWilson HVAC 10 02-27-2011 04:55 PM
Inducer installation / modification ... caseywa HVAC 26 12-06-2010 01:50 PM
Why is Inducer Fan Running? artbuc HVAC 3 07-31-2010 09:39 AM
New pressure switch and inducer and still incorrect drafting kevintabb HVAC 5 01-19-2010 12:59 PM
Pressure Switch, Draft Inducer, Burner Box, Problem majorapus HVAC 7 10-25-2009 06:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.