Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-22-2009, 07:57 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Inducer assembly cracks and replacement/repair


I was just told that the inducer assembly in RUUD gas furnaces are notorious for developing cracks. Since cracks have started in my unit (not reported during service 2 months ago), I was told the replacement needs to be done now in order to avoid "big problems" and more costly repairs later. The inducer appears to be a blower to insure proper exhaust and integrated with the rest of the system for safety. How can this cause "big problems" beyond the furnace not coming on? How worried should I be?

The replacement looks straight forward, turn off power, disconnect electrical wires and flexible tubing, remove 4 screws. Reverse for new inducer. There appears to be a gasket between the inducer and the furnace wall. Is there anything special to do with the gasket when installing a new inducer?

Thanks for all your advise.

DIYNew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2009, 04:29 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,401
Default

Inducer assembly cracks and replacement/repair


It needs to be replaced ASAP. That bakelite type I have replaced dozens of, they ALL crack. The crack will get large and fumes can spill into your house. The fan won't develop enough suction and the pressure switch will stop the furnace. Not hard to replace those. The new one is cast aluminum and better.

yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 10:04 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Inducer assembly cracks and replacement/repair


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
It needs to be replaced ASAP. That bakelite type I have replaced dozens of, they ALL crack. The crack will get large and fumes can spill into your house. The fan won't develop enough suction and the pressure switch will stop the furnace. Not hard to replace those. The new one is cast aluminum and better.
Thanks so much. The project looks straight forward for me. I ordered the part today. ... Have a great day.
DIYNew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2009, 01:55 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

Inducer assembly cracks and replacement/repair


I guess you could use a candle flame to check for air tightness after your new install.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.