Indoor AC Vents..should I Cover Them? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-27-2010, 10:37 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: S.E Michigan
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Indoor AC vents..should I cover them?


Should I cover the intake and plug the discharge vents in the winter? I have a large (14" X 25") intake and about a dozen discharge nozzels in the ceilings.

D

Advertisement

StahlMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 10:57 PM   #2
Military Mom of 4
 
Snav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 974
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Indoor AC vents..should I cover them?


If air/cold is coming in while unit isn't engaged then you can cover with magnetized sheets. . .and consider covering your outside unit if it's only used during the heat for ac for further protection from the frigid elements.

Advertisement

__________________
At this present moment in time I am making cabinets for the kitchen - just in case you wanted to know what I'm doing when I'm not around.
Snav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 11:17 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Indoor AC vents..should I cover them?


Is this a packaged unit that sits outside?

Last edited by richiemoe; 03-27-2010 at 11:40 PM. Reason: spelling
richiemoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 11:29 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: S.E Michigan
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Indoor AC vents..should I cover them?


The unit sits in the attic. I have hydronic heat.
I'm more concerned with the warm air excaping up into the intake and into the discharge.

D
StahlMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 11:39 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 35
Rewards Points: 25
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Indoor AC vents..should I cover them?


Then i would say it would not hurt anything thats for sure. I can understand why you would want to do this.
richiemoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 02:12 AM   #6
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,916
Rewards Points: 2,010
Default

Indoor AC vents..should I cover them?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Snav View Post
If air/cold is coming in while unit isn't engaged then you can cover with magnetized sheets. . .and consider covering your outside unit if it's only used during the heat for ac for further protection from the frigid elements.
i usually tell people not to cover condensing units in the winter,traps moisture and causes corrosion
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 08:49 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,259
Rewards Points: 1,046
Default

Indoor AC vents..should I cover them?


My air handler is in the attic all my vents are feed from that and my return air is in the ceiling of the hallway 20x25.

I shut the power off to the air handler, close all the louvers on the supply vents, take the filters out of the hallway and close off the 20x25 hole with 2 pieces of insulated duct board and reinstall the grill.

Remember hot air rises and all your heat will go through the vents to the attic.

The outside unit I do nothing to it, it's made for the weather like cars are.
If I was going to anything to the out side unit I would probably put a small piece of plywood on top with a brick to hold it down just to keep leaves and branches from going in the top. Do not cover tight with plastic it will ruin the unit let it breathe.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 10:26 AM   #8
Military Mom of 4
 
Snav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 974
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Indoor AC vents..should I cover them?


Good point, plummen and coldiron.
__________________
At this present moment in time I am making cabinets for the kitchen - just in case you wanted to know what I'm doing when I'm not around.
Snav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 12:14 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,543
Rewards Points: 4,724
Default

Indoor AC vents..should I cover them?


Since you said nozzles. I guess that means you have a high velocity system.

They make plugs for your supply outlets for that very reason.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 01:18 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: S.E Michigan
Posts: 62
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Indoor AC vents..should I cover them?


Yep, I've got the 2" plugs. A few were damaged so I got 2" caps from mailing tubes. Work great.
I'll look into putting a piece of foam insulation over the 14" X 25" intake.

D

Advertisement

StahlMaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ridge vents vs. box vents vs. turbine vents redaws Roofing/Siding 12 03-12-2012 10:48 PM
How to cover up ceiling vents in basement... Goldglv HVAC 7 07-09-2009 09:27 AM
Ridge vents and/or fan? mama2girls Roofing/Siding 20 05-27-2009 08:12 AM
ridge/soffit vents not enough?? cbice74 Roofing/Siding 1 06-16-2008 06:02 PM
Fascia cover filled with water/ice causing leaks brianbh Roofing/Siding 10 02-11-2008 08:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts