Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-02-2012, 08:26 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Increasing fan speed


Have a Rheem RHQA 1000B air handler and I was just looking at the manual online. The manual indicates that the blower has 3 speeds. I would like to know how I would go about checking to see what speed the fan is currently wired to operate on and how to change the speed. My system isn't a variable speed so my blower will only operate at the speed it is wired to run. I am trying to increase airflow to my upstairs bedrooms. I have already checked my ductwork and done everything to ensure it is sealed and everything is connected properly. I am also aware that higher blower speed will decrease temperature. I am just dead set on increasing the blower speed if I can figure out how to do it.

Jimbo65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 08:41 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Increasing fan speed


if you have AC also then you only have 1 spare speed probably MEDIUM wire taped off at fan motor the coolng runs HI speed and the heating is lo/lo med depending on brand.changing the air speed across the heatexchanger is going to change the temperature of the discharge air but you will get more air.try the unit durng heating mode and switch th stat to FAN/ON for HI just to see how that air is going upstairs.if it isn't a big change might hold off on changing speeds..is the supply duct tight sealed cheat the first floor a bit to get it upstairs...just suggestions....might have to slide the fan out to see the speed tag on the supply fan.if your set on doing it changing the low speed (heat) with either spare medium or the hi speed?? is possible.keep in mind the supply fan in heating mode is ontrolled thru the furnace control board or heat disc not the stat like the AC hi fan

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 09:30 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 22
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Increasing fan speed


I should have mentioned it is a heat pump system. Are you saying I have to change the heat mode fan speed at the control board? All of the wiring seems to be behind an access panel in my air handler. I have had my fan out recently when I cleaned it and also oiled it. Thanks.
Jimbo65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2012, 09:44 PM   #4
retired elect/hvac/plumb
 
plummen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: south east of omaha/The island of misfit contractors
Posts: 2,910
Rewards Points: 24
Default

Increasing fan speed


Look on your board inside heat exchanger,should be an extra wire coming from blower motor that is parked on the board,switch positions with it and the red wire coming from blower motor.
Look at your wiring diagram first to make sure which wire it is
__________________
"facts" have no relevance to this discusion
Posting from a concrete bunker under a non descript barn
plummen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wiring for two speed Emerson motor PerryupNorth Electrical 2 12-02-2011 10:44 AM
2 speed motor continues to run on slow speed Rob Fayette Electrical 2 11-13-2011 05:34 PM
Broan variable speed motor m0t0rgeo Electrical 1 09-22-2011 01:58 PM
Variable Speed Vs " Multi - Speed " alecmcmahon HVAC 15 04-14-2011 03:06 PM
increasing fan speed on a tempstar jakecool HVAC 17 06-15-2010 04:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.