ICP Furnace Blower Motor - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2010, 04:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

ICP Furnace Blower Motor


I was told recently that my blower motor is on dying as it is slow to startup and should be replaced. I wanted to go online to see if I could order one and maybe install it myself and if not maybe save a couple $'s at least on the part. My furnace was installed in '96, 75,000 BTU NG. Model # on the furnace is CHGK075AF01

I was also told that the fan only has 2 speeds (medium and high) and I would like to consider an energy efficient motor (if one exists). I have an electronic air cleaner (Electro-Aire) and our Honeywell Vision 8000 thermostat is usually left on CIRC mode so when the fan has not run on the furnace, the thermostat will cycle it automatically. Does the fan for circulation have to run on high though?

Advertisement

SheeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 07:38 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,532
Rewards Points: 4,702
Default

ICP Furnace Blower Motor


Your control board is set up to run the fan on cooling speed. So what ever speed you need for cooling, is what it will run at.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 09:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

ICP Furnace Blower Motor


Ok, so that answers the question of fan speed options then. So does anyone know what I am looking for in regards to the blower motor options?
SheeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 09:43 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,532
Rewards Points: 4,702
Default

ICP Furnace Blower Motor


Same motor as it currently has. Check teh rating on the motor, and get one that matches those. Plus the capacitor for it.
Doesn't matter if the new one is a 3 speed motor.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 12:04 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Canada
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

ICP Furnace Blower Motor


Ok thanks again for the reply. I was really curious of there was such a thing as a more energy efficient motor that can replace the existing one but I guess I will have to go pull the cover and get the motor specs.
SheeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 12:47 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,532
Rewards Points: 4,702
Default

ICP Furnace Blower Motor


A more energy efficient one. Will cost you a lot more then just replacing with the same type.
If your electric rate is real high. It might pay itself back in 4 or 5 years. If you run your fan 24/7/365
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2010, 04:36 AM   #7
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

ICP Furnace Blower Motor


motor is i/3 or1/2 hp. Pop for a half horse four speed motor and you can always decrease the air flow.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 01:32 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

ICP Furnace Blower Motor


A friend has the same model furnace with a manufacturer # 9684419548 and another # in a framed box 20045402A.
Does anyone know the age of this unit.
There is no sign anywhere on the unit of a serial #.
CISI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2011, 01:42 PM   #9
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,113
Rewards Points: 864
Default

ICP Furnace Blower Motor


serial #s can be hard to decipher. if you can see the gas valve and find a 4 digit code on it like 9812 that may tell you it was built in 1998 12th month. all major parts have a 4 digit date code on them

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 04:51 PM
Furnace Shuts down B4 Blower motor engages Kooks from Michigan HVAC 5 03-18-2011 01:11 PM
Rheem furnace blower motor does not come on automaticall wrightti HVAC 5 11-12-2008 06:29 PM
Furnace blower motor noise rivershorereid HVAC 1 10-04-2008 03:31 PM
Replace a furnace blower motor dadncharge HVAC 2 12-06-2007 10:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts