Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-22-2009, 09:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

ice in furnace


hey, i have ice build up in furnace blocking cold air from entering my house, please help

jjlis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 09:51 PM   #2
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

ice in furnace


You have one of two things wrong

1. Filter is plugged
2. A/C is lon on freon

When was the last time you replaced your filter?

Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 10:05 PM   #3
Member
 
Home Air Direct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 297
Rewards Points: 250
Default

ice in furnace


To expand on the plumber, after you change your filter, turn off the power to your outdoor unit and allow the furnace to run with the blower on. If the ice has not completely frozen up the coil, it will melt (in hours). Once you have defrosted your coils, turn the system back on and set to your desired temp.

If the system ices up again, you are low in refrigerant and you need to call for service, either to charge and or find the leak in the system if there is one.

Good luck.

btw.....I fielded this same question earlier today. After I gave the above answer, the homeowner responded back to me "What Filter?"
__________________
Settle down! If you were that important, the city would give you lights and a siren for your car
Home Air Direct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2009, 10:11 PM   #4
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,472
Rewards Points: 504
Default

ice in furnace


Good point Home Air

If I'm in a hurry I'll turn on the furnace for about 5 mins to help speed up the process
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Furnace air filtration advice stephen_smith HVAC 7 12-24-2010 02:24 AM
Oil furnace does not fire up sbhavinm HVAC 5 01-17-2009 07:06 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.