Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-14-2009, 01:43 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

ice on ac


Hullo to everyone.
I have a split unit air condition and when the compressor is working for some time I see ice (frost) on my tube on the outside unit (it is the thick coil). Does this mean that I am short of Freon (Refrigerant)?

elcostis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 05:57 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,120
Rewards Points: 150
Default

ice on ac


Or you indoor coil is dirty, or your air filter needs changed.
Plus a couple other possiblities.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 01:54 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

ice on ac


Thanks for the reply!
Do you know how can I use the Manifold Gauges to check if I have enough freon in the unit? How can I use the Manifold Gauges to add Freon?
elcostis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 02:09 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,120
Rewards Points: 150
Default

ice on ac


You need to check if your indoor coil is dirty first.
And then if it has a TXV or a fixed metering device.

If its just a dirty coil, just clean the coil.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 05:01 PM   #5
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

ice on ac


I smell goat
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 07:45 PM   #6
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Rewards Points: 0
Default

ice on ac


Yes, But is it done yet?

Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 07:51 PM   #7
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

ice on ac


HELL YEAH!

Who's got the Feta and the Kalammata olives?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 08:56 PM   #8
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 0
Default

ice on ac


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
HELL YEAH!

Who's got the Feta and the Kalammata olives?


And don't forget the BEER !
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 09:38 PM   #9
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 0
Default

ice on ac


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmac View Post
And don't forget the BEER !
When you're eatin' lamb or goat the beverage is either Retsina wine (tastes like Lestol) or Ouzo!


OOOOOoooopppaa!


__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.