Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-27-2012, 10:33 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 0
Default

I need help


4 Flashes Open temperature limit circuit

Ii have a Trane furnace module #VT2024/33 and it is flashing 4 times. What do I do?

TYLEVY1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 10:58 AM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

I need help


Limit switches "open" when a furnace has overheated. Do you have a meter you can test the switches with? You'd need it to perform continuity or ohms.

Other than that you can trace down each limit switch and bypass each one individually to see which one has tripped but than, if the switch doesn't reset itself, buy and install a new one.

You never want to leave a limit switch bypassed, it's a safety feature which protects you and your home from a potential furnace induced house fire.

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 12:28 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 133
Rewards Points: 75
Default

I need help


The first thing to check is your furnace filter, if it not allowing enough air through your furnace will heat up and the high limit switch will open shutting down the furnace. If your filter is fine, then your coils could be dirty, not allowing enough air flow through, and again shutting down the furnace. They will need to be cleaned.
rick31797 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2012, 01:26 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: GA
Posts: 163
Rewards Points: 150
Default

I need help


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
Limit switches "open" when a furnace has overheated. Do you have a meter you can test the switches with? You'd need it to perform continuity or ohms.

Other than that you can trace down each limit switch and bypass each one individually to see which one has tripped but than, if the switch doesn't reset itself, buy and install a new one.

You never want to leave a limit switch bypassed, it's a safety feature which protects you and your home from a potential furnace induced house fire.
Hey Doc

Must of the time when a hvac part does not have resistance (ohms) then that means that part is bad? Like example a fan motor.
kilosos2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.