Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-17-2011, 12:49 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 109
Share |
Default

I moved themostat 20 feet and my A/C doesn't work anymore


Hi,
I need help. I had to move a thermostat 20 feet (so I extended the wire another 20 feet) and now the central heater and A/C stopped working. The only thing that works is the fan.

There are 4 black wires coming out of the wall to the thermostat. If you look at the back of the thermostat, the wires are labeled....

RH (which is also jumped to RC)
G
W
Y

I read from another website that the W and Y wires are to control the Heating and A/C. Do you think it is possible I reversed these wires? If I try to swap them to test it out, will it damage the system?

Right now....
- If you turn on the A/C, it only works as a fan. (No cold air.)
- If you turn on the heater, it doesn't do anything.
- If you turn on the fan only, it works perfect as a fan.


Last edited by stanlam; 10-17-2011 at 01:57 AM.
stanlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 01:28 AM   #2
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

I moved themostat 20 feet and my A/C doesn't work anymore


Did you install an extension cable where it was the thermostat to the new position or installed a new cable from thermostat ( new position ) to the controller board?

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 01:40 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 109
Default

I moved themostat 20 feet and my A/C doesn't work anymore


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
Did you install an extension cable where it was the thermostat to the new position or installed a new cable from thermostat ( new position ) to the controller board?
It was an extension cable.
stanlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 01:45 AM   #4
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

I moved themostat 20 feet and my A/C doesn't work anymore


Quote:
Originally Posted by stanlam View Post
It was an extension cable.
Turn off the furnace .... just follow the colors to make the connections
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 01:48 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 109
Default

I moved themostat 20 feet and my A/C doesn't work anymore


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
Turn off the furnace .... just follow the colors to make the connections
I'm confused. I can't even turn on the furnace. Also, all 4 wires that are coming from the wall are black, so there are no colors.
stanlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 01:59 AM   #6
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

I moved themostat 20 feet and my A/C doesn't work anymore


If you marked the wires that were connected to the thermostat...it will be easy for you...... now if you disconnected the black wires without any identification, you will need a multimeter to identify each wire .....this is the best way to save your controller board, fuse or transformer.

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.

Last edited by JJboy; 10-17-2011 at 02:17 AM.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 02:06 AM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 109
Default

I moved themostat 20 feet and my A/C doesn't work anymore


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
If you marked the wires that were connected to the thermostat...it will be easy for you...... now if you disconnected the black wires without any identification, you will need a multimeter to identify each wire .....this is the best way to save your controller board, fuse or transformer.

Hi,
I did mark the wires. However, I'm wondering if I marked it incorrectly.

I read from another website that the W and Y wires are to control the Heating and A/C. Do you think it is possible I reversed these wires? If I try to swap them to test it out, will it damage the system?
stanlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 02:13 AM   #8
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Default

I moved themostat 20 feet and my A/C doesn't work anymore


Instead of cobbing the job,why don't you go and buy enough 18-4 real thermostst wire (18-5 would be even bgetter in case you ever needed an extra wire for a set back stat ) and connect the new wire like it should be.
I don't like spliced wire anyways,it too easy to not get a good connection.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to REP For This Useful Post:
stanlam (10-18-2011)
Old 10-17-2011, 02:26 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 109
Default

I moved themostat 20 feet and my A/C doesn't work anymore


Quote:
Originally Posted by REP View Post
Instead of cobbing the job,why don't you go and buy enough 18-4 real thermostst wire (18-5 would be even bgetter in case you ever needed an extra wire for a set back stat ) and connect the new wire like it should be.
I don't like spliced wire anyways,it too easy to not get a good connection.
I will probably have to do what you are suggesting as the last resort. For now, does anybody know if I can swap the W and Y wire to see if it will work. Running a completely new thermostat wire will take about 5 hours to hide the wire and run it from the 2nd roof to the center of the house on the 1st floor. Swapping the W and Y wire will take about 5 minutes.
stanlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2011, 02:33 AM   #10
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

I moved themostat 20 feet and my A/C doesn't work anymore


Quote:
Originally Posted by stanlam View Post
I will probably have to do what you are suggesting as the last resort. For now, does anybody know if I can swap the W and Y wire to see if it will work. Running a completely new thermostat wire will take about 5 hours to hide the wire and run it from the 2nd roof to the center of the house on the 1st floor. Swapping the W and Y wire will take about 5 minutes.

You have R-G working ( FAN ON ). disconnect these wires at thermostat.

try these combinations:

R-W - call for heat
R-Y-G - call for cooling

Don't do R-W-G......
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JJboy For This Useful Post:
stanlam (10-18-2011)
Old 10-17-2011, 06:25 AM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,219
Default

I moved themostat 20 feet and my A/C doesn't work anymore


Try what JJ said and if your still having a problem listen to REP and take 5 hours and run new thermostat wire from the air handler/heater to the thermostat. Look how much time your wasting messing with all the same color wires that are suspicious from the start. Who ever first installed that system was &^^%#^%. 18-5 and keep the spare.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to COLDIRON For This Useful Post:
stanlam (10-18-2011)
Old 10-17-2011, 09:49 AM   #12
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

I moved themostat 20 feet and my A/C doesn't work anymore


If you were to tie onto the new extended stat wire at the new location with the new 18-4 colored wire and just pull it back to where the old stat location was, where the splice is, it should take you all of 15 minutes.

From there you can splice color to color. Use small blue or gray wire nuts.

Running all new stat wire from the furnace to the new location shouldn't take any longer than 45 minutes.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
stanlam (10-18-2011)
Old 10-18-2011, 12:20 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 109
Default

I moved themostat 20 feet and my A/C doesn't work anymore


I will try this weekend and post the results. Thanks.
stanlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 12:16 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 109
Default

I moved themostat 20 feet and my A/C doesn't work anymore


sorry, I know this post is 2 months to old. However, I did want to respond for future reference. The problem was the wire, it was to long and the wrong type. So the problem was solved after installing the correct wire. Thanks for your help.
stanlam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2011, 06:35 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,219
Default

I moved themostat 20 feet and my A/C doesn't work anymore


Good job, you sure that was the only thing wrong?? Not wired correctly?

COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
asbestos Donnie L. Safety 57 11-27-2012 02:57 PM
New work vs Old work Tetranitrate Electrical 3 07-12-2011 08:19 AM
Newbie needs to build a deck addition toolbot Building & Construction 16 05-10-2011 11:58 AM
Lets Play The "How Much Stain Will I Need?" Game! Bgm94 Painting 5 02-11-2011 09:53 AM
Kitchen Sink Moved - new kitchen sleepysmurf Plumbing 1 08-10-2010 06:38 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.