Hydronic Expansion Tank - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-06-2009, 02:09 PM   #1
Member
 
Joe F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 273
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Hydronic expansion tank


I'm doing a bit of re-plumbing of my hot water baseboard heat system. The house was built in 1959. It has a relatively new Burnham boiler, but still the system still has the old 6 ft by about 14" (huge) expansion tank mounted in the overhead. I'm thinking of replacing it with a smaller (modern) tank while I have the system down. How do I properly size the new tank, and what are the rules for placement?

Advertisement

__________________
If you don't stand behind our troops, please feel free to stand in front of them.
Joe F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 03:34 PM   #2
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Hydronic expansion tank


Try this link. http://www.amtrol.com/pdf/extrolbrochure.pdf

Advertisement

JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 07:17 PM   #3
Member
 
Joe F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 273
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Hydronic expansion tank


Thanks John.
__________________
If you don't stand behind our troops, please feel free to stand in front of them.
Joe F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2009, 07:30 PM   #4
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Hydronic expansion tank


The new tanks do not pipe in the same as the old expantion tanks. Your tank may be set up for a air seporator to vent air back into. The old still tanks work fine. Are you having any problems with your system now? Why are you concedering changing.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2009, 05:48 PM   #5
Member
 
Joe F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 273
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Hydronic expansion tank


The old tank is very large and originally had a Taco Air Scoop that was plumbed into it. The plumber that installed my boiler in 2000 removed the air scoop and plumbed the tank directly to the system. My main reason for wanting to swap it out was that I figured it's a fairly inexpensive upgrade (get rid of the behemoth, better pressure control). I've got the system down so, "might as well" (you know how that goes)
__________________
If you don't stand behind our troops, please feel free to stand in front of them.
Joe F is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing new expansion tank ted schumm HVAC 2 07-19-2009 10:49 PM
Testing 12 year old hot water expansion tank? DJfixer Plumbing 2 01-01-2009 09:09 AM
how to install a expansion tank to a gas boiler iris Plumbing 2 10-08-2008 03:17 PM
Hot water heater expansion tank? rjniles Plumbing 3 06-21-2008 11:53 AM
No Expansion Tank for Water Heater vasanvasan Plumbing 4 12-14-2007 12:16 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts