Hydronic Baseboard Not Working Properly - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2009, 10:39 PM   #16
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Hydronic baseboard not working properly


Quote:
Originally Posted by Massed615 View Post
copper fin baseboard fed by pex on the first floor the second floor is a heat pump fed by pex and that work great
Heat pump I assume water to air? This is being feed from the boiler also?

Advertisement

JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 10:44 PM   #17
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Hydronic baseboard not working properly


Quote:
Originally Posted by buletbob View Post
dont want to but heads on this post, but I would say the system was choked by the 1/2 Pex. going from 3/4" to 1/2" on the first floor I would have to say your choking the zone. BOB.
1/2" can feed 3/4 baseboard but only so much of it. We dont know if a single loop or how many feet of baseboard the loop has on it yet. Sooo may things still to determon and almost bed time for this old man
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2009, 10:48 PM   #18
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Hydronic baseboard not working properly


Quote:
Originally Posted by Massed615 View Post
copper fin baseboard fed by pex on the first floor the second floor is a heat pump fed by pex and that work great
Do you mean a air handler with a hot water coil or actually a heat pump?
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 06:30 AM   #19
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,569
Rewards Points: 4,776
Default

Hydronic baseboard not working properly


" pex, doesn't have the same flow rates at the same head pressure as " copper.

You probably have a Taco 007 or equivilent circulator.
Its probably too small for the GPM you need.

You need someone to come out, and check the head the circulator is working against. And to check temp rise through the boiler.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 03:42 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hydronic baseboard not working properly


sorry for some reason I didn't see the other posts. My best guess is the second floor which also has AC has 5/8 pex runn up to the attic which heats a coil and a fan that blows the hot air to each room. This system work great its very responsive and it holds a constant temp. The down stair is 1/2 in pex fed to about 40' of base board on a single loop

Last edited by Massed615; 01-15-2009 at 09:54 PM.
Massed615 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 09:55 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hydronic baseboard not working properly


And that is a separate zone on the boiler
Massed615 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 10:09 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hydronic baseboard not working properly


would a circulator pump help? If so what kind of horse power should i get if it running about 100' total including the 40' of base board

Last edited by Massed615; 01-15-2009 at 10:11 PM.
Massed615 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 10:11 PM   #23
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Hydronic baseboard not working properly


Not enough pipe for that much baseboard. Read this http://www.bellgossett.com/Press/Cou...arch1995-A.pdf
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2009, 10:22 PM   #24
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hydronic baseboard not working properly


Thanks after reading that it looks like I could have a couple of causes:
1. where 2 ends of half inch pex meet who ever installed it you 1/2'' copper to connect them this happens a couple of times on the loop
2. My loop might be too long and i could be losing pressure and temp by the last room. if this is the case is it possible to run two loops off the same zone?
3.The " pex is too small

Thanks for the input I have a plumber coming out on sat hopefully I don't have to replace all the pex
Massed615 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2009, 04:46 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hydronic baseboard not working properly



Advertisement

Massed615 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bleeding boiler , heating problems , laars endurance


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
baseboard heater not working bobcatnj Plumbing 6 10-30-2008 10:21 PM
Hydronic baseboard brand name Joe F HVAC 3 02-05-2008 08:50 AM
baseboard heat upstairs not working TraceyLee HVAC 1 10-23-2005 06:47 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts