Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-23-2013, 10:23 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

HVAC Trane XE70 motor swap


Hello,

I have a Trane XE 70 furnace with AC. The blower motor went out so I bought generic motor. I installed it already. I think I need to increase the speed as in the air flow at resisters is low. Can someone help me figure this out?
Do I run this in Med.-Hi? or low Med.?

First picture is coming from the new motor. I splice the old connector on.
Second picture is to the furnace
Third picture is old motor
Fourth picture is the new motor.

I did this last fall. Furnace heated the house fine all winter.

Hope this is eungh info.

Thank you once again.
Attached Thumbnails
HVAC Trane XE70 motor swap-wp_000497.jpg   HVAC Trane XE70 motor swap-wp_000498.jpg   HVAC Trane XE70 motor swap-wp_000509.jpg   HVAC Trane XE70 motor swap-wp_000500.jpg  

Lawemail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 10:40 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,523
Default

HVAC Trane XE70 motor swap


Try high, if too much air, use med high.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 10:54 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
Default

HVAC Trane XE70 motor swap


How would I connect between picture 1 and 2? I tried a few different ways and can not seem to get it to blow on high. Any ideas?

Last edited by Lawemail; 06-23-2013 at 10:54 AM. Reason: It is stuck on low or med. No high.
Lawemail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 10:56 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
Default

HVAC Trane XE70 motor swap


Optional there wire connection? Could this be my issue?
Lawemail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 10:59 AM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,523
Default

HVAC Trane XE70 motor swap


Neutral Should go to C of the connector, and he hot to 4 of the connector.

Guessing you have the capacitor wired up to the brown and brown with white strip wires already?

Have you double checked to make sure that rotation is correct.
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 12:12 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
Default

HVAC Trane XE70 motor swap


Cap is wired up yes
Rotation is correct
Just found the high but now I think the outside fuse is blown

Last edited by Lawemail; 06-23-2013 at 12:12 PM. Reason: Outside AC fuse
Lawemail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 12:15 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
Default

HVAC Trane XE70 motor swap


I do not have a connectiuide *spelling* tester. So I have Menards test it while I am there for another project.
Lawemail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 12:18 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,523
Default

HVAC Trane XE70 motor swap


Continuity. (think I spelled it right) LOL
__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 01:38 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 6
Default

HVAC Trane XE70 motor swap


Ok got a new fuse. Why would the AC fan outside come on only when thermostat set to heat?
Lawemail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2013, 02:18 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,523
Default

HVAC Trane XE70 motor swap


May be a shot in the wiring some where.

__________________
When posting in certain forums, knowing your location will help others give better feedback/advice/solutions to your questions.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Trane 3.5 ton HVAC holodeck HVAC 6 06-06-2012 12:21 PM
TRANE HVAC breaker turning off crcuevas HVAC 15 01-14-2012 11:26 AM
advice please! - new TRANE HVAC system ACtawk HVAC 2 10-07-2010 04:25 PM
Trane hvac warranty question jlewi110 HVAC 1 10-21-2009 09:11 AM
Trane HVAC MabelMartin HVAC 2 12-30-2007 09:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.