Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2010, 07:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

HVAC three wire motor to six wire motor


The old compressor fan motor was three wire and the new fan motor is six wire. Brown/white wire to one capacitor connector, Brown wire to other capacitor connector, Purple wire "common" to L1, Black wire "high" to L2, Red wire (low) insulate, Green wire to ground. The old and new capacitor has three connectors, F, C and Herm. The new fan motor shows it being wired to a two connector capacitor. Any ideas

Leo Caproni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 09:26 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 135
Default

HVAC three wire motor to six wire motor


Did the new motor come with a capacitor?
If it did use that capacitor, if it did not come with one get one sized for the new motor. It should tell you on the data plate of the new motor the size of the capacitor required.
The capacator marked HEM is for the compressor.
The old motor used this original dual purpose capacitor.

Artco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 09:28 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,509
Default

HVAC three wire motor to six wire motor


F and C.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 10:56 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
Default

HVAC three wire motor to six wire motor


Thank you guys for your advice but my problem is that the new motor has an extra wire compared to the old motor. The extra wire is brown/white and the wiring instructions on the motor say to wire it to the capacitor. Problem is that the new motor wiring instructions show a two pole capacitor and the old and new capacitor's are both three pole.
Leo Caproni is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 12:18 PM   #5
nap
You talking to me?
 
nap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: sw mi
Posts: 5,407
Default

HVAC three wire motor to six wire motor


the "three pole" capacitor (three terminal actually) is a dual capacitor. There is a common terminal and then each of the other terminals is the second terminal of that specific section of the cap.

F and C are for the fan ; herm and C are for the compressor

the wires from the motor that hook to the capacitor would go to the "C" and "F" terminals, just like beenthere said.


make sure the capacitor is the proper size for the new motor.
nap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 01:23 PM   #6
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

HVAC three wire motor to six wire motor


Quote:
Originally Posted by nap View Post

make sure the capacitor is the proper size for the new motor.

Or just buy a cap for that motor & have 2 capicators. The single cap may not be the correct output for that new motor

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wire leads on Reliance Motor abnormalnorman Electrical 13 06-30-2010 09:49 AM
Condenser motor and Capacitor confusion ryanru HVAC 5 06-26-2010 12:25 PM
New fan motor going out? DavidI HVAC 5 06-23-2010 10:38 AM
Inside Blower motor keeps running crawlerchris HVAC 1 12-19-2009 08:01 PM
Replace Condenser Fan Motor cnavazio HVAC 14 06-24-2009 09:57 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.