Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-25-2011, 02:46 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 83
Share |
Default

HVAC Thermostat Wire


Hello all. I'm in the process of renovating an entire house, working on drywall in a hallway with an thermostat. Currently I have an old unit I will replace in a few months and would like to go ahead and run the wiring for it now if needed.

The current thermostat uses a 24 gauge telephone wire with 4 solid colors.

What type wire should I run inside the wall for a new, modern unit? Would seem easier to do it now than when a new unit is installed, would it not?

JoeLena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 03:00 PM   #2
Still Learning
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 338
Default

HVAC Thermostat Wire


You can go to any supply house and buy thermostat wire. I dont remember if it is 18 awg or 20 awg but it is a standard size. As far as how many wires to use depends on what kind of system you are going to install. When futurizing like you are doing, i use 6 strand wire. Here is the breakdown: red is 24v, white is heat, yellow is cooling, green is fan, and i like to use blue for common to power the thermostat. This eliminates having to change batteries in the thermostat. Note: if you are using a heat pump the color code will be different but 6 strand should still work.

thehvacguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 03:03 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 83
Default

HVAC Thermostat Wire


Great, thanks! I'll look for the 6 strand.
JoeLena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 04:25 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

HVAC Thermostat Wire


Might want to bump it up if you plan on getting more then a single stage heat and single stage cool in the future or plan on adding a humidifier. Mine is 18 gauge 12 wire and every one of them is used.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 04:39 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Atlanta, Georgia
Posts: 83
Default

HVAC Thermostat Wire


Perhaps I'll just put something in to fish some wire thru when it's time. Have good access unser in the basement. Might be over planning things...
JoeLena is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 04:57 PM   #6
Still Learning
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 338
Default

HVAC Thermostat Wire


Wow you used all 12? The most ive ever used on residential is 8... What requires so many wires?
thehvacguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 05:21 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

HVAC Thermostat Wire


Two stage gas, two stage HP, humidify, dehumidify, outdoor sensor,R,C,G,O. Actually there's a L terminal not in use,sends and error to the stat if the HP gives a fault. I should have ran 14 wires.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 05:48 PM   #8
Still Learning
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 338
Default

HVAC Thermostat Wire


Um... What do you mean by HP? also what furnace you using? And where do you live that you need a hum and a dehum? I think i have installed one dehumidifier in my 5 years doing this, but i live in los angeles so we dont need much
thehvacguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 06:09 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

HVAC Thermostat Wire


Heat pump. System is a Lennox G61 & a xp19 HP. Dehumidify is just a function of the cooling. It runs the cooling on second stage and ramps the furnace blower way down when the humidity is above a set percentage, mine's on 50%. Design temps in this part of Nebraska are -2 in the winter and 95 in the summer and the humidity is often miserable.

Good place to be in the heating and air biz. LOL

Last edited by Marty S.; 01-25-2011 at 06:14 PM.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 06:36 PM   #10
Still Learning
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 338
Default

HVAC Thermostat Wire


Wow ok. I guess i have a hell of a lot to learn... Well it would be a nice place if there was actually work...

thehvacguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4 wire thermostat to 2 wire Tammpatt Electrical 1 01-10-2011 01:46 PM
Carrier Edge Thermostat Installation Issue ptalar HVAC 1 07-13-2010 05:40 PM
How to wire in 24vac auxiliary power for thermostat 383bigblock HVAC 6 04-13-2010 07:13 AM
3 wire thermostat shadow82399 HVAC 3 09-20-2009 07:37 PM
X wire on old thermostat Jellybean HVAC 3 03-30-2008 07:14 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.