Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-14-2012, 09:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

HVAC Thermostat issues


Last year during summer season my thermostat power went out several times. After varying periods of time it came back on by itself. I've been heating all winter and had no further issues. Yesterday I turned back to air and today the thermostat turned off, just as last year. Has anyone seen this issue before? Seems to be related to only A/C. I've checked circuit box and nothing is tripped. This is also dual zone and the second unit is operating perfectly. Any checks or answers are appreciated. I'm looking to eliminate easy checks before calling a pro.

Thanks in advance

sfmike741 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 04:32 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,486
Default

HVAC Thermostat issues


Loose wire connection at the thermostat or or the furnace/air handler.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 08:15 AM   #3
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,608
Default

HVAC Thermostat issues


remove the stat off the subbase and clean the pins or contacts on both with alc.Qtip or pencil eraser are you doing an AUTO change over or manually going from heat to cooling....how old is the stat do you have a C terminal on that subbase?
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 09:37 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Default

HVAC Thermostat issues


It's an auto changeover. I'll try cleaning and check the connections at the air handler. Thanks for the help
sfmike741 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 09:38 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 3
Default

HVAC Thermostat issues


The unit is 5 years old.
sfmike741 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 10:22 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 94
Default

HVAC Thermostat issues


You probably have a float switch in your drain line or drain pan. if your drain line clogs, rather than flooding your home, it creates an open in whatever circuit it is connected to. In this case, probably the red wire for your thermostat. Turn on your a/c, let ut run until the stat looses power. Then, look in your drain pan and in your drain line for two random wires. Follow the wires down to the pan or line and you'll probably also find some water. If you do, get a wet vac, go outside to where your drain line drains and suck out the clog with the wet vac.

jfrotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HVAC Thermostat Deserie HVAC 2 06-17-2011 04:01 PM
Need help replacing an OLD General Controls Thermostat ohman HVAC 3 06-08-2011 05:35 PM
A/C fan issues or thermostat or worse? ct78 HVAC 4 04-10-2011 12:25 PM
Adding second thermostat to HVAC unit hoanphu HVAC 3 12-07-2010 05:24 AM
AC/Thermostat issues rzgwong HVAC 2 06-21-2008 11:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.