HVAC Thermostat - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2011, 04:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HVAC Thermostat


I have an OLD thermostat. 8 terminals. 6 wires. Here's the problem.

When I popped the front, 4 of the wires were attached for sure: Y=Yellow, R-Red, G=Green, Blue=COM.

The other two wires are Orange and White.

Around the terminal that reads W2, there was a piece of wire, as if a wire (either the Orange or the White) had been attached, but broke off.

The three other terminals are E/W3, O, and B. From what I can tell they were not used.

Now I am trying to install a Honeywell RTH3100C. The terminals are: E, Aux, Y, G, O, L, R, B, C.

I am not certain if the Blue wire goes to B because there is no corresponding COM terminal.

And I am not certain if the Orange and White wires are required. And if they are required, where to put them.

As an experiment, I attached the Blue wire to B, the Orange wire to O and turned the power on.

The unit working and is blowing cold air. BUT IT WON'T TURN OFF. I have to turn it off at the breakers.

Help!!!!

Advertisement

Deserie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 04:27 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 417
Rewards Points: 282
Default

HVAC Thermostat


Quote:
Originally Posted by Deserie View Post
I have an OLD thermostat. 8 terminals. 6 wires. Here's the problem.

When I popped the front, 4 of the wires were attached for sure: Y=Yellow, R-Red, G=Green, Blue=COM.

The other two wires are Orange and White.

Around the terminal that reads W2, there was a piece of wire, as if a wire (either the Orange or the White) had been attached, but broke off.

The three other terminals are E/W3, O, and B. From what I can tell they were not used.

Now I am trying to install a Honeywell RTH3100C. The terminals are: E, Aux, Y, G, O, L, R, B, C.

I am not certain if the Blue wire goes to B because there is no corresponding COM terminal.

And I am not certain if the Orange and White wires are required. And if they are required, where to put them.

As an experiment, I attached the Blue wire to B, the Orange wire to O and turned the power on.

The unit working and is blowing cold air. BUT IT WON'T TURN OFF. I have to turn it off at the breakers.

Help!!!!

What kind of system do you have? Furnace? AC? Heat pump?

Advertisement

zootjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2011, 05:01 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: everett washington
Posts: 32
Rewards Points: 25
Default

HVAC Thermostat


id hook the blue to C and the white to aux. doubt the orangwe was used. whithout the white terminal hooked up you will not get any heat
cascadehvac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
weathertron Mecury Thermostat VickiL HVAC 4 02-06-2011 05:32 PM
Thermostat issues rathipon HVAC 4 01-29-2011 12:46 PM
Adding second thermostat to HVAC unit hoanphu HVAC 3 12-07-2010 06:24 AM
Wiring Thermostat for HVAC UncaYimmy HVAC 8 05-07-2010 05:51 AM
Help with Trane HVAC Thermostat taylorjo32327 HVAC 0 07-22-2009 02:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts