HVAC Sizing Question - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-03-2010, 07:39 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HVAC Sizing Question


I live in the Peidmont of NC and just purchased a house built in the Late 50's, a Cinder Block house. still has old windows so it gets cold in hte winter. I am replacing hte HVAC Package unit with a new Package heat pump. the house is 1400 square feet. My question is from my calculations the correct size for HVAC would be 2.5 ton ...BUT I think that I neeed to up it to 3 ton. Please advise

Advertisement

hawks000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 09:08 AM   #2
Member
 
Joe F's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 273
Rewards Points: 250
Default

HVAC Sizing Question


Have your HVAC contractor do a load calculation. Not sure how you came up with 3 Ton, but the correct way is to use Manual J (for cooling) and the corresponding manual for heating. It is a fairly involved process. In the Eastern part of the US, you round down (for cooling) rather than up because of the need to remove moisture from the air.

Advertisement

__________________
If you don't stand behind our troops, please feel free to stand in front of them.
Joe F is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2010, 09:05 PM   #3
Im a N00b Here!
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Charlotte NC
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HVAC Sizing Question


I second that suggestion for sure... You can really shoot yourself in the foot when installing a larger unit to an older home as well, as you need more return air for the larger system. Its not just.. "Install a 3-ton"... its Install a 3-ton, add a second return air run to increase the volume going back to the unit so it doesn't turn into a block of ice, and sound like a vacuum cleaner! :-)

Have your contractor run a load is a great way to get it right!
GasFurnaceGuide is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
heatpump , hvac , old house , sizing


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complicated HVAC / Thermostat Question tlynch99 HVAC 11 10-28-2010 09:12 PM
HVAC Humidifier Question rubicon789 HVAC 8 01-13-2009 12:06 PM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM
Question Re: New Furnace and Duct Sizing DSimo HVAC 3 06-17-2008 08:24 AM
Sub panel sizing and distance question fburke Electrical 13 06-11-2008 07:33 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts