HVAC Size - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-31-2011, 09:18 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HVAC Size


Need some advice please. We are looking to finish about half of my basement and trying to make sure contractor doesn't put to big of a unit in and break my wallet. I live in a ranch and the basement is completely underground. There is one door, window and small boat door on the far side of where I am finishing. So three of the walls are buried deep into the ground. My main floor is 2,200 sq ft approximately and has 13 windows and 5 doors and runs of a 4 ton unit and is very comfortable. My question is would I need a 4 ton unit in the basement considering no windows and underground? The house is located just outside Atlanta area and the basement is usually comfortable and won't run much. It will be used more to keep the dampness down. Looking forward to the feedback Bruno

Advertisement

Bruno71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2011, 05:53 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,532
Rewards Points: 4,702
Default

HVAC Size


Basements take very little to heat or cool them. And you won't find a regular ducted system made small enough for your basement. A mini split may be your best option. And you will need a dehumidifier also.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
Bruno71 (04-02-2011)
Old 04-01-2011, 06:25 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 9
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HVAC Size


Bruno
the best way to know for sure is to have you contractor do a heat gain and loss on your basement.
THIS IS THE ONLY WAY TO KNOW FOR SURE./



Do not tap off existing system if you have one unless you use zone dampers.

Install a ductless heat pump system.
This will work for heating cooling and will dehumidifie the basement if sized properly.
twinbelle is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to twinbelle For This Useful Post:
Bruno71 (04-02-2011)
Old 04-01-2011, 07:01 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: PENNSYLVANIA
Posts: 2,259
Rewards Points: 1,046
Default

HVAC Size


Agree with been Mini splits are the way to go in basement rooms. Since I installed mine I love it, quite, fast acting, remote stat. Holds set point great.
COLDIRON is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to COLDIRON For This Useful Post:
Bruno71 (04-02-2011)
Old 04-01-2011, 05:40 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HVAC Size


1) Do an energy audit to check air leaks, otherwise any money invested in HVAC can be wasted. Some local government or utility company provide incentive/rebate for doing audit

2) Call some contractors to do the heat load calculations

3) Check whether the quoted price is reasonable compared with other consumers' spending
http://www.hvac-cost.com/search?Zipc...rand=&Type=All
Tdad is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Tdad For This Useful Post:
Bruno71 (04-02-2011)
Old 04-02-2011, 08:07 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HVAC Size


Thanks for all the replies. It is very helpful. My quote was for a 4 ton unit, 13 seer and was about $6500. This included duct work in the entire basement, a split unit, condensation pump and everything else needed for a complete installation. I just feel the 4 ton is a bit much, because of the basement being completely underground and 4 ton is what i have on the main floor with all the windows and doors.what I have on the main floor. The contractor keeps saying, because of the sq ft of the entire basement a 4 ton unit will be most efficient. I guess it's time to get another quote. Thanks again, this is a cool forum.
Bruno71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2011, 08:11 PM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,532
Rewards Points: 4,702
Default

HVAC Size


Yep. You need to keep looking for a contractor

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving HVAC system dilemma denemante HVAC 4 03-18-2011 05:55 PM
Estimate for Basement HVAC in New Construction jb_nc HVAC 4 07-29-2009 12:48 PM
Engineered Joists & holes for HVAC ducts walt1122 Building & Construction 3 07-04-2009 08:37 PM
Hvac Size ptrostant HVAC 1 08-14-2008 07:14 PM
Aluminum wire size/ guage / amps? walt1122 Electrical 17 07-30-2008 11:44 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts