Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-26-2012, 01:33 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NE Georgia
Posts: 179
Share |
Default

HVAC settings


Background: Had heat pump with electric strips for EMergency heat. Even the strips didn't do the job and the electric bill skyrocketed. So I converted to natural gas for EM heat, intending to never use the heat pump for heating, only cooling.

They said they programmed the system so that when the outside temp got below 50F the heat pump would automatically switch to gas, but if I set the thermostat to EM heat, it would override this and run gas regardless. I told them I would never use the heat pump for heat, but they implied it had to be done that way.

I always use the EM heat setting, set the temp lower at night, and turn it up in the morning. It has just started getting cold here. So lately I notice the heat doesn't come on until some time after I set the temp up, sometimes hours later. Same thing happens with regular heat pump setting. So now I'm wondering...

Could it be they set the system so NEITHER heat comes on until it's 50 degrees outside?

If so, is this a setting at the thermostat, or outside? Is there some way I can correct this without calling them out again?

Could it be something else?

Just want to be more knowledgeable when I talk to them this time.

BTW, I love the gas heat, when it's working.


Last edited by NancyNGA; 11-26-2012 at 01:38 PM. Reason: typo
NancyNGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 03:44 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,542
Default

HVAC settings


Emergency heat over rides the lock out temps. they may not have the thermostat wired right. Post brand and model number of stat. Depending on brand and model numbe, there is an installer set up that you can change that you don't need to set it to emergency heat.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 04:42 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NE Georgia
Posts: 179
Default

HVAC settings


Thermostat is a PRO1, model T855.
NancyNGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 10:48 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NE Georgia
Posts: 179
Default

HVAC settings


Update:

Had the company that installed the system out and the man concluded:

-Thermostat had a bad circuit.
-Pressure switch was gummed up
-Thermostat model would only allow gas heat to work up to 3 degrees below setting then try to switch to heat pump
-Heat pump set so that it won't come on if outdoor temp drops below 50 degrees.

He replaced the thermostat with one (he says) does not have that 3 degree thing and will run only the gas, and cleaned out the pressure switch.

Next morning same thing. The furnace would hum for a minute or two and then quit, but the gas wouldn't come on. Started short cycling later in the morning, and worked fine in the afternoon.

Then they sent an "expert" out and he claimed all that was wrong was a second filter below the (floor) return vent was not allowing enough air through. (Doesn't explain why it wouldn't come on at all in the mornings, does it?) But he just took the second filter off and said it wasn't necessary anyway.

Same thing next morning.

This is a reputable business that has been around for at least 20 years. I don't want to call someone else because it's still under warranty, but they don't seem to understand it.

Does anyone out there have any experience with a setup like this? Is there a secret/trick to setting it up?

Can you give me some clues as to what might be the problem? Anything would be helpful.
NancyNGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 04:00 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,542
Default

HVAC settings


May not have enough slope on the drain line for the furnace if its a condensing furnace.

Next time it doesn't come on, look at the panel of the blower compartment, it will have a small window. look inside the window for a flashing LED light. it should flash a code by flashing X number of times. Write down how many times. then turn off the power and remove the panel and look at the legend and see what the code means. then the tech that comes out will have a starting point to find out the problem.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thinking about installing my own retrofit AC system-with some help from real HVAC guy BT5150 HVAC 2 08-02-2012 06:43 PM
HELP!!! How much owe my HVAC repairman? Is he competant? MB1 HVAC 23 02-01-2012 02:42 PM
Runaround - HVAC and HWH proper venting/exhaust denemante HVAC 24 04-05-2011 08:50 PM
moving HVAC system - can I go without gas for a few days? denemante HVAC 2 03-30-2011 04:55 AM
History of HVAC Industry Brands winkydink HVAC 8 03-25-2011 07:28 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.