Hvac Question On R410A Lines - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2009, 11:37 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 417
Rewards Points: 282
Default

Hvac question on R410A lines


What are peoples thoughts on the size of the refrigerant lines. Can you go a size larger on the bigger of the two lines?

I notice the datasheets on the condenser say that a 2.5 ton unit should have a 3/4 line, a 3 ton unit should have a 7/8 line, and a 3.5 ton unit should have 1 1/4 line. Is it ok to use a 7/8 line on a 2.5 ton unit? Does it buy you anything? Does it hurt anything? I'm running my line 32 feet. If I go with the 2.5 ton unit, my coil will have 7/8 fittings and the condensor will have 3/4. Either way I'm going to need a reducer. I'd like to spend the extra 10 bucks for the larger line for ease of coolant flow and future proofing if I upgrade to a larger unit. Any flaws with this logic?


-Jeff

Advertisement

zootjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 01:24 PM   #2
as seen on tv
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 205
Rewards Points: 150
Default

Hvac question on R410A lines


I would follow manufacturers size to length requirements for lineset application. 3/4 to 7/8 probably will not hurt.

Advertisement

qbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 01:27 PM   #3
Member
 
Home Air Direct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 297
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Hvac question on R410A lines


You can run the 7/8. You may have to add a little bit more charge than you would with the 3/4, but that is the same with added length beyond the factory charged 15 ft.
__________________
Settle down! If you were that important, the city would give you lights and a siren for your car
Home Air Direct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 01:41 PM   #4
Member
 
Home Air Direct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 297
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Hvac question on R410A lines


So, did you determine that you could utilize a 2.5 ton because of size and load? I notice you can utilize the CAPF3642B6.

Just make sure that you are choosing your new size based purely on load and not on physical design. You can always make transitions to accommodate for size.
__________________
Settle down! If you were that important, the city would give you lights and a siren for your car
Home Air Direct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 05:57 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 417
Rewards Points: 282
Default

Hvac question on R410A lines


Quote:
Originally Posted by Home Air Direct View Post
So, did you determine that you could utilize a 2.5 ton because of size and load? I notice you can utilize the CAPF3642B6.

Just make sure that you are choosing your new size based purely on load and not on physical design. You can always make transitions to accommodate for size.
I can't seem to find any info on the: CAPF3642B6

They have C6 and D6 but no B6.

Do you have a datasheet different then the one on the website?

-Jeff
zootjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 06:09 PM   #6
Member
 
Home Air Direct's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 297
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Hvac question on R410A lines


Quote:
Originally Posted by zootjeff View Post
I can't seem to find any info on the: CAPF3642B6

They have C6 and D6 but no B6.

Do you have a datasheet different then the one on the website?

-Jeff
Sorry Jeff.....My Bad

I have never printed the spec sheets so I turn my head and read sideways

You are correct, no B.

Did you ever say what size drive your existing furnace has? Since you have stepped your unit size down, I noticed that some of the VS 3 & 4 ton drives work with the 3636 coils.

Since you are keeping your existing furnace drive, you will never get a perfect system match, but now that you are in the 2.5 ton arena, it seems there are more options.
__________________
Settle down! If you were that important, the city would give you lights and a siren for your car
Home Air Direct is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2009, 09:25 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 417
Rewards Points: 282
Default

Hvac question on R410A lines


Quote:
Originally Posted by Home Air Direct View Post
Sorry Jeff.....My Bad

I have never printed the spec sheets so I turn my head and read sideways

You are correct, no B.

Did you ever say what size drive your existing furnace has? Since you have stepped your unit size down, I noticed that some of the VS 3 & 4 ton drives work with the 3636 coils.

Since you are keeping your existing furnace drive, you will never get a perfect system match, but now that you are in the 2.5 ton arena, it seems there are more options.
I have a Trane XV90 80,000 btu furnace. Dual stage burner, variable speed fan. It has dips witches for 2, 2.5, 3, 3.5 ton outdoor units.

Also dips for 350, 400, 450 CFM/TON.

So in theory if I set it to 3.5 TON and 450CFM/TON, the unit will try to do 1575 CFM...

I'm leaning towards the 2.5 ton 14SEER, and yes it is because of the coil more then anything. I think 2.5 Tons will be fine based on all my experiences thus far. I also plan to put in dampers and zone the house by turning off rooms we won't be in much, so 30,000 BTUs seems like it will be plenty..

Advertisement

zootjeff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I need a HVAC return vent in basement? westing HVAC 13 04-03-2014 02:43 AM
Basement Renovation Question KUIPORNG Remodeling 234 08-26-2008 09:19 AM
How Do I Install New Duct Lines For My Finished Basement? luweee HVAC 17 01-12-2008 04:01 PM
new 3 ton hvac Payne units. No cool air comes out when fan, compressor,thermostat run runbikeengr HVAC 10 04-10-2007 06:59 PM
increasing washer supply lines to 3/4" instead of 1/2" amatchin Plumbing 3 04-15-2006 05:23 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts