Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-30-2011, 11:17 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

hvac not working


i have no power to my thermostat. nothing works on the thermostat at all. it's blank. i have reset the breakers, changed the fuses on the indoor unit. i also tried a new thermostat with no good fortune. the only other option that i have before calling a tech is to change the breakers at the box. any solutions anyone

itshotinhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 12:03 AM   #2
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

hvac not working


Check the low voltage (24vac) coming from transformer at control board.

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2011, 05:29 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7
Default

hvac not working


thanks will give it a check
itshotinhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2011, 06:22 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7
Default

hvac not working


hey thanks everyone, I got hold of a local tech and he advised me to check the fuse in the air handler (circuit board). this looks like a car fuse. I pulled it and although it wasn't blown I re-inserted it and turned the breaker back on and the themostat came back on. I'm guessing that this fuse may reset the system. I was willing to pay this guy to come out and solve this for me but he willingly offered the info I needed. There goes to show that it's not always about making a dollar. Thanks again for everyone who offered advice. I'm gonna tackle installing a dish washer this week. I may be back, LOL.
itshotinhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2011, 06:33 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 116
Default

hvac not working


is it still hot?
ehoez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2011, 11:42 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 7
Default

hvac not working


ehoez,
everything is running fine and cold actually.

itshotinhere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I need a HVAC return vent in basement? westing HVAC 13 04-03-2014 01:43 AM
History of HVAC Industry Brands winkydink HVAC 8 03-25-2011 07:28 AM
HVAC plans for remodel wease HVAC 3 03-23-2011 10:47 AM
Engineered Joists & holes for HVAC ducts walt1122 Building & Construction 3 07-04-2009 07:37 PM
HVAC Upgrade Questions JonC HVAC 8 02-27-2009 05:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.