Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-25-2012, 02:56 PM   #16
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

HVAC not blowing out of vents


I'm a bit confused. Can you take a pic of the system and post it here? And do have any toOls at all such as a drill with 1/4" and 5/16" drill bits or even simply nut drivers of those sizes?

__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 03:10 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 284
Rewards Points: 250
Default

HVAC not blowing out of vents


I've attached an old picture that I have....I'm not able to take a new one right now. The unit you can barely see infront of the closer one is for upstairs. The handler is in the attic. On the unit for downstairs, the top comes off to give you access to the evaporator coils. On the other side of them, where the blower is, that front panel (the one facing the camera) comes off. You can access the blower and circuit boards there. Does that help?
Attached Thumbnails
HVAC not blowing out of vents-ac.jpg  
autx790 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 03:18 PM   #18
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

HVAC not blowing out of vents


Do you have access to under the house and a flashlight? I'd crawl under there and take a look at your ducts. You may have a hole in either of the lines but I'm thinking the supply line, meaning you are losing air under the house. And a big hole at that, seals came apart.


From here, with everything working and with the tech putting his gauges onto the system and verifying proper refrigerant levels with the unit running (which he did, right?) than that's all it can be at this point or at least from my viewpoint. If you had a restriction such as a blocked return the pressures would be noticeabely different, far off. And the evaporator coil would freeze. The system, if left off overnight, would blow regular and then within a few minutes to an hour it would begin to throttle back until you had no air flow at all.

You are saying there is nothing from the get go.
__________________
Thanks.

Last edited by Doc Holliday; 06-25-2012 at 03:21 PM.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 03:29 PM   #19
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

HVAC not blowing out of vents


And be careful under there. Possums and squirrels and mice and even snakes will borrow into your duct work. Some of the bigger ones will rip it apart just to nest in there.

I had three kittens in my wall, fell through from the attic. The mother cat had them up in there, tore through my soffit to get in.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 03:29 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 284
Rewards Points: 250
Default

HVAC not blowing out of vents


yeah, that's a good point. The tech said everything looked good at the return under the house and as far back as he could see. I may crawl under there later after work. I've been redoing the whole house and spent maybe hours under there. but never noticed any issues with the duct work. The coolant levels were good and when he popped the cover off the top he did say the unit was starving for air. Something like that. He felt like it was more of an obstruction than a hole somewhere.
autx790 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 03:58 PM   #21
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,876
Rewards Points: 2,204
Default

HVAC not blowing out of vents


If you don't find anything wrong with the duct work and this other tech can't either, than ask about checking amperage draw of the blower motor and the uf rating of the capacitor. It could be spinning but not was fast/hard as it should be but again, the refrigerant pressures would be off if that were the case and the coil would freeze up.

And if you do find an animal in your duct work, could you take a few pics and post them here. If you make it out alive, that is.

NO PICTURES OF SNAKES, I HATE SNAKES!!
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 04:20 PM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 284
Rewards Points: 250
Default

HVAC not blowing out of vents


Gonna go take a look. I'll tell you, we've had plenty of animals in the attic/walls of this house but mostly just rats, squirrels and bats. I put hardware cloth up underneath the house and that's stopped most of the 4 legged animals getting in there.
autx790 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2012, 05:53 PM   #23
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,965
Rewards Points: 3,600
Default

HVAC not blowing out of vents


Remove panel to blower motor. Either turn the system on, or turn the fan switch to on and see if air comes out your registers. If so, then its not a supply duct problem.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 07:59 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 284
Rewards Points: 250
Default

HVAC not blowing out of vents


Hey beenthere,

The tech did that. He left the panel cover pryed open and air would then come out of the registers. So we're thinking it's something with the return ducts. From what I could see under the house yesterday, i didn't see anything completely obvious...of course I wasn't able to inspect the full length of the return. Sorry doc, no animals.
autx790 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 03:23 PM   #25
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,965
Rewards Points: 3,600
Default

HVAC not blowing out of vents


Is your return flex duct?
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 04:15 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 284
Rewards Points: 250
Default

HVAC not blowing out of vents


yes. 14" i believe (or bigger). And it's sitting on the ground.
autx790 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2012, 04:18 PM   #27
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,965
Rewards Points: 3,600
Default

HVAC not blowing out of vents


Inner lining may have separated, and be restricting air flow.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2012, 02:14 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 284
Rewards Points: 250
Default

HVAC not blowing out of vents


Indeed. The inner liner has come loose and was stopping air flow. They replaced a good length of the return duct and it's working fine now. There is one spot they couldn't really get to, so lets hope that section doesnt fail down the road. Thanks for the help guys!

autx790 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ridge vents, soffit vents, end gable vent confusion. joemill Roofing/Siding 4 04-01-2012 06:18 PM
Hidden Soffit Vents Mucluk Building & Construction 4 01-26-2012 09:15 AM
edge vents or dci vents globex Roofing/Siding 2 08-18-2011 09:17 PM
Hardly any air blowing out vents and lights dim every few minutes girlnamedjo HVAC 7 05-26-2011 01:29 PM
HVAC vents location pinkertonpv HVAC 3 06-03-2010 05:30 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.