Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-30-2009, 09:01 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

HVAC Multi zone


My HVAC system that is being installed is multizoned. it consists of two zones, each controlled by a damper on the supply. Each room has a return vent rather than one central return in the house. My question is should dampers also be included on the returns too or just the supplies?

skippy76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 09:11 PM   #2
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Default

HVAC Multi zone


IMO just the supplies. The return needs to be as free and open as it can. No restriction to the air being drawed into the furnace

I like the return to all the rooms better than the central return. Just remember no returns in the kitchen and bathrooms

__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 09:13 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Default

HVAC Multi zone


ok, thanks. I was just ponderring as if zone 1 is active, with no dampers on the returns to zone 2 the air will be drawn from zone 2 even when just conditioning zone 1. The furance is a VS so will compensate.

Andrew
skippy76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2009, 09:20 PM   #4
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Default

HVAC Multi zone


Is this a 2 stage furnace?
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 08:00 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 3
Default

HVAC Multi zone


Yes, it is actually 3 stage, variable speed.
skippy76 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2009, 08:34 AM   #6
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Default

HVAC Multi zone


No, dampers are not needed in the returns. What brand zone system are you using?

hvac122 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HVAC very weak upstairs with zone control installed g8rben HVAC 5 06-14-2009 06:51 PM
need some help sorting out my new heating zone please wombosi Plumbing 3 04-23-2009 04:54 PM
help with third heat zone i just put in... wombosi HVAC 6 04-21-2009 12:02 PM
Adding another HVAC Zone handy man88 HVAC 3 10-09-2007 09:45 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.