Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 07-28-2012, 01:23 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 0
Share |

hvac move

Hello, band New to forum so go easy on my ignorance of the subject. I'm a student and purchased an older house 2 story built in 1979. Not much of an attic but the hvac is up there. My house is based on a square. Bedroom in each corner upstairs with the stairs and landing in middle. Thermostat is up stairs in middle of house below the attic stairs. My house is cold while my thermostat thinks it's not. I added a vent to this area to alleviate our calibrate it a little but it's not helping as much as I would hope. My ac guy just cleaned my coils and after explaining all this he said my ac is 4 ton and my return is 16 inch. He said 20 inch is minimum on a4 ton.

I am in the process of drawing out some schematics to move the hvac behind the thermostat and in the house. Unlimited return and cooler unit means it will save power. Only downfall being between all 4 bedrooms it might've a little noisy. I can live with that. Beck I'll triple the Sherlock around the unit to help our use hardy backer x3.

The area would take up one of my rooms closets which is fine it's only 9x10 for office any way but what is a logical price for a move like this? Hvac plentium goes downstairs where I want to install the Hvac with plenty of room. I can take pictures or video. Just need more ideas.

I'm a handy man, I learn from tearing apart.

Edit also I want to replace all duct work in walls it's really bad from pure owners with no filter. Not easy to do without pulling out sheetrock. Any suggestions or tricks?
Thanks
Mike

Last edited by ang1dust; 07-28-2012 at 01:30 AM.
ang1dust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 05:31 AM   #2

hvac move

There is no way to give any realistic pricing on an internet forum. Prices vary widely between different regions, and even within the same city at times.