Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-12-2012, 08:28 AM   #1
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 655
Share |
Default

HVAC lines, cost to replace?


Hi All,

Attached is a picture of the 3 wires leading to the compressor outside to the furnace. It looks like they are pretty beat up from being tightened to hard. Since my ceiling is open, I was thinking about having them replaced. It might be about 20-25 feet from the compressor to the furnace. What are some rough estimates?
Attached Thumbnails
HVAC lines, cost to replace?-photo-3-2-.jpg  

Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 08:52 AM   #2
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Default

HVAC lines, cost to replace?


could not tell u from just that one pic.

don't know the suction line size. don't know how it's hooked up inside or out side.

more pics are in order.

hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 08:54 AM   #3
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 655
Default

HVAC lines, cost to replace?


Sure thing. Tell me exactly what you want to see and I'll go do it right now. Thanks for your time.
Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 08:55 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,248
Default

HVAC lines, cost to replace?


I do not see any wires. Copper pipe, another pipe wraped in insulation and some beat up duct tape is all I see.
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:06 AM   #5
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 655
Default

HVAC lines, cost to replace?


There is another brown line, with a bunch of little wires inside. They look like the wires inside Cat5 sheathing.
Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:10 AM   #6
Experienced
 
Jackofall1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Southern Michigan
Posts: 2,822
Default

HVAC lines, cost to replace?


$125 for service call
$250 for material
$300 for labor
$125 for freon evacuation and reinstall.

Call it a nice round $800 bucks, or you could call a local service company and have them out to give you a real quote.....your choice.

Mark
__________________
When its all said and done there is usually more said than done
Jackofall1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:13 AM   #7
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Default

HVAC lines, cost to replace?


pull the bell(brown)wire wrap away from that suction/LL run is that what you talking about..whats that silver/gray stuff is there oil residue there?
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:24 AM   #8
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 655
Default

HVAC lines, cost to replace?


On the left side is duct tape and on the right side is a metal clamp that was way over tightened and digging into the line.
Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:27 AM   #9
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Default

HVAC lines, cost to replace?


there is no vibration there did the clamp cut into the copper or just the insulation
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2012, 09:35 AM   #10
Member
 
Trucon01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 655
Default

HVAC lines, cost to replace?


I believe just the insulation. But I figured since there are other spots where this happened and I am demoing the entire basement, I might as well have all new lines run.

Trucon01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
moving HVAC system - can I go without gas for a few days? denemante HVAC 2 03-30-2011 04:55 AM
Low point in water supply lines dave11 Plumbing 3 02-01-2011 07:13 PM
Reasonable cost to replace mailbox and light post? akphs Off Topic 1 04-26-2010 09:55 PM
Hvac question on R410A lines zootjeff HVAC 6 06-21-2009 08:25 PM
Cost to replace entry and screen doors?? kiss44 Carpentry 6 01-30-2009 09:46 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.