Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-11-2007, 07:01 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

HVAC humidifier issue


I recently installed a Carrier Infinity 96 LP HVAC system. During the quoting phase I decided to install a air exchange unit because the renovation was going to make the house pretty tight. the salesman mentioned I probably would not need a humidifier. It was my fault for not checking the quote so the unit was installed w/o it. I decided I wanted to have one so they installed a flow thru Aprilaire 600 unit. I've had some issues like I haven't heard the air exchanger operating even when the system says it is suposed to be on. Regardless of other issues right now I am running on only the master zone of a 2 zone system. The outlets & most of the returns are blocked in the unfinished additions. The original 900 s/f house is the only area being heated at this time and this is concidered the master zone (zone 2 is disabled). With all controls set for anywhere from 30%-40% humidity the house this winter never went above 20% - 25% @ any outside temp (20 - 50 degrees). I check the humidifier and it was operating whenever the Infinity system requested. I talked to Aprilaire & they said the air temp needs to be 120 degree or better or use a hot water supply. Hot water was not an option. I find the plenum temp @ to be no higher than 100 degrees +/- at any given time (I haven't contacted Carrier about this yet). I did a flow comparison test on the humidifier and it seems to consume 2oz or less in 1.5 minutes, so it is using water. (Although I am troubled by the waste, a different issue). I also did a test by running a vaporizer in the house with an immediate humidity increase. I am @ a loss where to go. Any advice/suggestions will be appreciated.

rfjm58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 09:32 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 0
Default

HVAC humidifier issue


You have a tight house, you said that your self........so your heater is not running very often. The ONLY time that your aprilaire 600 is doing any humidifacation is when the humidistat is calling for humidity and the furnace is running in the heating mode.

Your furnace simply does not run enough to keep the level at your desired level. You need (and you already have you said) suplimental humidifacation.

harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 06:11 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

HVAC humidifier issue


At this stage the house isn't tight. Insulation & sheetrock are not up in the additions. The furnace does run a fair amount. This is why I have the unfinished areas are closed off. It is a balmy 52 degrees today so I did a plenum temp test again & it's running around 130 degrees. The humidifier has been set for 45% on manual mode in the thermostat settings for quite some time & the indoor humidity is 31%. Since the heating season is coming to a close, I think until I get construction more completed I will have the HVAC outfit give me a letter of guarantee that the himidifier will work properly next year.
rfjm58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2007, 06:30 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 0
Default

HVAC humidifier issue


Quote:
I think until I get construction more completed I will have the HVAC outfit give me a letter of guarantee that the himidifier will work properly next year.

They will laugh at you if you ask them that............


Quote:
The ONLY time that your aprilaire 600 is doing any humidifacation is when the humidistat is calling for humidity and the furnace is running in the heating mode.
Maybe you missed that part so here you go again.

1 other thing.........on the infinitys the humidifier I think is supposed to be controled by the main board on the furnace, not a humidistat.....if you are using the infinity control.
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2007, 06:46 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 0
Default

HVAC humidifier issue


The humidifier is hooked up through the infinity system. I runs all the time when called for. I need to check to see if the infinity system is supposed to run blower only for adding humidity when heat is not needed. The one thing I have over the installer is money. The job is not complete at this time. Thanks for the help.
rfjm58 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I need a HVAC return vent in basement? westing HVAC 13 04-03-2014 01:43 AM
New HVAC Issue calvins HVAC 6 11-14-2011 09:37 PM
History of HVAC Industry Brands winkydink HVAC 8 03-25-2011 07:28 AM
HVAC plans for remodel wease HVAC 3 03-23-2011 10:47 AM
HVAC Humidifier Question rubicon789 HVAC 8 01-13-2009 11:06 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.