HVAC Help! Pressure Switch Stuck Open. - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-18-2011, 09:29 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HVAC Help! pressure switch stuck open.


Inter-city forced air furnace.
Cycles without firing. Error code 3 on white rodgers universal controller board (50a55-843).

Error code three is open pressure switch.

Manual manipulation of switch will repeat will allow furnace to run. When running high limit switches stay repeat stay in functioning resistances.

Problem seems to be the "pull back" on pressure switch. Diaphragm is repeat is good.

My gf is preggers and this is her furnace, 7 months into it so she def needs heat! Haha.Thank you.

Name:  ForumRunner_20111218_082944.jpg
Views: 207
Size:  18.9 KB

Advertisement


Last edited by beenthere; 12-19-2011 at 05:03 AM. Reason: Removed phone number
secretsneeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 05:08 AM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,421
Rewards Points: 4,488
Default

HVAC Help! pressure switch stuck open.


Please don't post phone number. This is an open forum, never know who sees it.

Advertisement

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
plummen (12-19-2011)
Old 12-19-2011, 10:50 AM   #3
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,220
Default

HVAC Help! pressure switch stuck open.


Remove the long black hose from the draft inducer motor (the black hose that connects to the pressure switch, pressure switch being upper right) and softly suck and blow on it. Listen for the distinct click in the pressure switch. This should help unstick the mechanism.

Also, remove the black hose from the pressure switch itself and wiggle an unfolded paper clip around in the port.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
plummen (12-19-2011)
Old 12-19-2011, 01:13 PM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

HVAC Help! pressure switch stuck open.


keep in mind the control board needs to see an action stat calls ID comes on and then the PSI closes indicating ID air...if you force it it will fail and you need to repower to do a restart with no jumps.....the board stores the failures on the ID....pressure switch failures.clear the switch or change it with no power then test on that repower and tube connected
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 02:54 PM   #5
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Rewards Points: 500
Default

HVAC Help! pressure switch stuck open.


I think you need a pro hvac tech. By the pic looks like limit switch is jumped out. THAT IS NOT SAFE!!!!!!!!
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2011, 03:03 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HVAC Help! pressure switch stuck open.


Tator1076 - thanks bud. im actually jumping the high limit on the board and using a multimeter to check that it is not giving an infinite resistance.

biggles - u sound very knowledgeable, unfortunately i only understand about half of what u said.

Doc Holliday - yes sir i have verified the action of the pressure switch itself, the problem exists in that it is not drawn back by the furnace pressure once it is on the appropriate cycle.

beenthere - sorry bud, wont do it again.

Advertisement

secretsneeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 08:25 PM
Changing A Double Switch to a single pole switch and a dimmer switch loydbrahn Electrical 0 11-09-2011 12:00 AM
Help with Amtrol Digital well pressure switch Cool_CA Electrical 1 06-14-2011 08:53 PM
Pressure Switch Question loftezy HVAC 11 04-12-2011 05:57 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts