Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-06-2009, 09:12 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Rewards Points: 500
Default

HVAC - Hard-Start Device


So what is the difference between a "hard-start" kit and one just increasing the capacity of the existing start capacitor for a compressor?

What I am reading, it almost appears that all a hard-start kit is is a 2nd capacitor hooked parallel with ones existing capacitor.

So my thought was to just swap out my existing cap with a larger one.

Thoughts?
Attached Thumbnails
HVAC - Hard-Start Device-img_2620.jpg  

__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 09:33 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,025
Rewards Points: 3,714
Default

HVAC - Hard-Start Device


Your existing capacitor, is a RUN capacitor.
It does a different job then a START capacitor.

A start cap is more then just another cap in parallel, there needs to be a device to drop it out of the circuit. Or the start winding would burn up.

Many hard start kits come with a device built into the cap assembly.

If you just increase the size of your RUN cap, you can do severe damage to the compressor.

PS: your current one, is a duel run capacitor.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 09:48 PM   #3
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

HVAC - Hard-Start Device


hard start kits boost the windings to get it to start.if your tripping the CB for the condenser an adjustable time delay in series with the 24V R out to the condenser.this will allow the pressures to equalize for an easy start and a crankcase heater will keep the refrigerant liquid from migrating back to the sump.the combo of liquid refrig in the oil sump,and unequalize freon pressure will trip the breaker......adding a hard start will push the winding to overcome these,and add years to that compressor winding.the result is a burn out,and acid thru out the system big bucks to clean up and repair.....and cut back on it operating at its peek during those summer months. check out www.grainger.com item # 4E234 TD item# 4MC05/4MC02 CCH
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 10:00 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,025
Rewards Points: 3,714
Default

HVAC - Hard-Start Device


Thats a HP in that pic.
The defrost board has a time delay built into it.

A proper hard start kit, will not harm a compressor.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 10:43 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Rewards Points: 500
Default

HVAC - Hard-Start Device


So you are saying that a hard-start kit just adds one in the start position, which I understand...but then why do all the websites that sell them just say it is as simple as hooking two wires up?

http://bestbuyheatingandaircondition...ategory_Code=C
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 12:27 AM   #6
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

HVAC - Hard-Start Device


That's where an HVAC education comes in.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 05:47 AM   #7
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,025
Rewards Points: 3,714
Default

HVAC - Hard-Start Device


Because, a single piece kit.
Has lock out device built into it, in series, so it only needs 2 wires.

The trick is, to get one that uses a potential relay, and not a PTC, plus one that is the proper size.

Improper sizing will harm the compressor.

Kits that use a PTC, can damage a compressor. Because they can stay energized too long, or drop out to soon.

And that is why many people still say hard start kits are bad for compressors. They are only use to seeing or using the cheap ones with PTC relays.

In refrigeration, a start kit is common(and often from the factory), and 20 years on a compressor that has one is not unusual.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 10:38 AM   #8
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

HVAC - Hard-Start Device


Remember when Bryant used one on their builders model. That was the old green finned aluminum condenser.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 10:59 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Rewards Points: 500
Default

HVAC - Hard-Start Device


Ok, I understand now, thank you.
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 05:01 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,025
Rewards Points: 3,714
Default

HVAC - Hard-Start Device


Yea.

And Carrier used starts kits on all their R500 units, as I recall.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 08:14 PM   #11
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

HVAC - Hard-Start Device


I am referring to solid state hard starts


Wkatta piece of **** those Bryants were
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 08:32 PM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,025
Rewards Points: 3,714
Default

HVAC - Hard-Start Device


Yea, sorry.


I was just pointing out, that Carrier used real good "Start kits" on some of their equipment.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 12:02 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Rewards Points: 500
Default

HVAC - Hard-Start Device


So I was at the local supply house today, they had two hard start offerings. I opened them up and looked at the directions and BOTH of them said to hook the two wires from this device (capacitor) to your existing RUN capacitor.

So we are all talking about TWO separate things here right? All that would do is boost the run capacitor capacity.

I did pull out the wiring schematic for my HP and see there is an option to wire in a relay and a start capacitor. I will pursue that option as I want to extend the life of my HP.
__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 02:39 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500
Default

HVAC - Hard-Start Device


although its called a run cap its actually wired to the start winding adding the unit you saw at the supply house based on the tonnage is all you need they have been on the market for years and are pretty reliable
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2009, 12:13 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Dayton Ohio Area
Posts: 670
Rewards Points: 500
Default

HVAC - Hard-Start Device


Found the schematics for my HP. Now I know how to wire mine up.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf M0730443090095545100.pdf (52.2 KB, 103 views)

__________________
-Andrew
DIY hobbiest
AndrewF is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
History of HVAC Industry Brands winkydink HVAC 8 03-25-2011 08:28 AM
HVAC plans for remodel wease HVAC 3 03-23-2011 11:47 AM
Brand new PAYNE PG9MAB won't start . Error code 12 tp618 HVAC 3 12-19-2008 10:21 PM
Buying a Hard Start Capacitor Help D1G1T4L3CH0 HVAC 3 10-17-2008 09:42 PM
Blue smoke at start up, and shudder at idle fauer Automotive Repairs 6 08-22-2008 12:39 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.