HVAC Guy Says To Call Plumber? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-06-2011, 01:15 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HVAC guy says to call plumber?


I recently had my HVAC serviced today due to the aircondition and heating not working. Fan blower was working but no cold or hot air. He first advised that freon would fix the problem, which it did for the cooling. However, after adding in 2 pounds of freon, the heating is still not working. He then advised that I have hydronic heating and that my First Co flow control module, which is attached to my water heater is defective. He advised that the cause of the flow control being defective was the lack of voltage from the power outlet to the flow control module. Since this item is defective, i was advised to call a plumber for the module and a eletrician for the power outlet. I am already down 200.00 for 2 lbs of freon and a service call and cant really afford another technician..but i dont think i will have any choice...

info regarding my Hvac unit:
Lennox 13acd-c30-230-03 the blower is indoors.../first co 940-3 CV Flow Control Module/UC-HW Fan coil also made by first Co

All these products are about 4 years old... please help... Thank you

Advertisement


Last edited by NOHEAT; 11-06-2011 at 01:17 AM. Reason: missed some info
NOHEAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 08:32 AM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,118
Rewards Points: 874
Default

HVAC guy says to call plumber?


If the flow control is not opening due to no power to it then he cannot say it is defective. If it has power and not opening then it is defective. Some HVAC companies and plumbing companies have "service plumbers" who work on electrical and plumbing. Mine does. Others just do toilets and piping and don't have electrical skills. Try find one that can troubleshoot boilers.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 09:00 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HVAC guy says to call plumber?


Thank you for your response... im just afraid that this is really not the problem and will waste another 80 bucks in diagnostic fee. the individual that came by yesterday seemed to not know much about hydronic systems. we tried plugging the flow control module into another outlet and still no heat. however, i did notice that when i turn on the heat in the house, i feel warm air for about 5 seconds and then it completely becomes room temp air. its seems like its being shut off by something.
NOHEAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 09:02 AM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,118
Rewards Points: 874
Default

HVAC guy says to call plumber?


That is why you need an EXPERIENCED and skilled service plumber/boiler guy/hydronic htg specialist. They are rare and we charge $99 to come to the house. Some charge more and a good service plumber makes at least $30/hr so you have to pay the going rate.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 09:06 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HVAC guy says to call plumber?


thank you.. i will do just that. get someone with experience
NOHEAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 09:09 AM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,118
Rewards Points: 874
Default

HVAC guy says to call plumber?


Ask for the service manager and SPECIFICALLY ask if their guy has the necessary skills or if they can recommend a company who has who you are looking for.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2011, 10:56 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

HVAC guy says to call plumber?


thank yuri... i will definitely have to hire another hvac company... i tried my ac this morning and that too is not cooling as it used to prior to this year. just a little cold, but im not sure if the reason is because of the cold air circulating within the house due to no heat. they did use a thermometer yestwrday and was advised that it was working with the new freon installed

Advertisement

NOHEAT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
When do I call the plumber? ctote Plumbing 4 07-07-2011 12:28 PM
Ductless Mini Split Install - need HVAC Tech! mike_30319 HVAC 13 03-30-2011 07:18 AM
moving HVAC system - can I go without gas for a few days? denemante HVAC 2 03-30-2011 05:55 AM
HVAC plans for remodel wease HVAC 3 03-23-2011 11:47 AM
Moving HVAC system dilemma denemante HVAC 4 03-18-2011 05:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts