HVAC Fresh Air Ventilation - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2008, 10:29 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Question

HVAC Fresh Air Ventilation


I was told by an HVAC contractor that I needed an 8" hole drilled in my foundation so that I could install and 8" duct to bring fresh air into my basement furnace room in order to meet code. 8" seems large for this. I just went to the home improvement store to purchase a vent for the hole to be drilled on Monday and the only thing I could find was 4" vents intended for a clothes drier. It seems like if an 8" outside vent was required for my furnance to meet code, they would be readily available.

Advertisement

SLCDIY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 10:57 PM   #2
oops, did I do that!
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: mid michigan
Posts: 290
Rewards Points: 250
Default

HVAC Fresh Air Ventilation


Look into "Skuttle Kits". Is your furnace and water heater in an enclosed mechanical room?

Advertisement


Last edited by 8 Ball; 10-10-2008 at 11:31 PM.
8 Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 11:04 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,186
Rewards Points: 500
Default

HVAC Fresh Air Ventilation


Where do you live?

Ask the contractor why you need an outside vent.
__________________
My idea of a perfect day: No where to go and all day to get there.
Marvin Gardens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 01:27 AM   #4
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

HVAC Fresh Air Ventilation


That hole is large enough for a 300kbtu furnace. How big is your house?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 08:08 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 72
Rewards Points: 75
Default

HVAC Fresh Air Ventilation


I have an 8" that goes into the end of our return air.

I also have a 6" combustion air. Pipe next to the furnace.

Chimney is 7".

Yea... I got problems...

Things are not balanced in our 1945 home.

At some point I'll get a high-e furnace, electric hw, HRV and then redo the duct work.
unixb0y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 08:22 PM   #6
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

HVAC Fresh Air Ventilation


How 'bout answering some of the qustions so we can try and help out instead of just complaing about it?
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 11:00 PM   #7
Member
 
tk03's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 167
Rewards Points: 150
Default

HVAC Fresh Air Ventilation


You only need to bring in the amount you are short.
This may be of some help.
http://www.comfort-calc.net/Combusti...lculation.html

Advertisement

tk03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Do I need a HVAC return vent in basement? westing HVAC 13 04-03-2014 02:43 AM
History of HVAC Industry Brands winkydink HVAC 8 03-25-2011 08:28 AM
HVAC plans for remodel wease HVAC 3 03-23-2011 11:47 AM
Fresh air home ventilation Jeekinz HVAC 7 04-18-2007 04:08 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts