Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-30-2011, 01:35 PM   #1
Member
 
Jamntx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Hvac fan


I just moved into a home built 2003 in Texas try to turn on ac everything started up but the fan on the outside was not moving what is the cause, it's an amana brand that's all I know. The house is two stories 2400 sq ft

Jamntx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 02:16 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Hvac fan


Looks like noone responded. Did you figure it out. I know on our house they put obviously a breaker in the panel but they also put a seperate power switch by the unit itself so we can kill the power there if needed instead of running back and forth to the breaker. I'd start with the breaker, and maybe get a volt meter to verify you are getting power at the unit. Fan motot could be dead as well. Good luck

Kriggio824 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 02:35 PM   #3
Member
 
Jamntx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Hvac fan


Thanks , I called a friend he does Hvac told me it's the capacitor a # 80 for a 5 ton w/heat pump just gonna get the part seems like a simple fix
Jamntx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 05:39 PM   #4
REP
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 615
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Hvac fan


Before you go running out to get the capcitor,label the wires asm to where they go and then remove the cap and take it with you to be sure you get the right replacement.You must get the exact microfarad rating.You can go from 370 volt to 440 volt but not the other way around.
The wrong cap may allow the motor to run but it will slowly eat away at the motor windings.
REP is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 05:40 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,084
Rewards Points: 3,828
Default

Hvac fan


Look at the old capacitor to make sure what one you need. Yours is a dual run capacitor.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2011, 06:15 PM   #6
Member
 
Jamntx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 33
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Hvac fan


Hey thanks guys, really good advice.. As I called grainger and they began asking me specks I will prolly take a pic and bring the cap with me . Btw seems like all the Hvac places close on the weekends, as hot as it is in Texas now, thought theyd be open all week, just my wish, it's the heat talking

Jamntx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Runaround - HVAC and HWH proper venting/exhaust denemante HVAC 24 04-05-2011 09:50 PM
Ductless Mini Split Install - need HVAC Tech! mike_30319 HVAC 13 03-30-2011 07:18 AM
moving HVAC system - can I go without gas for a few days? denemante HVAC 2 03-30-2011 05:55 AM
History of HVAC Industry Brands winkydink HVAC 8 03-25-2011 08:28 AM
Engineered Joists & holes for HVAC ducts walt1122 Building & Construction 3 07-04-2009 08:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.