HVAC-Duct Work And Furnace Question - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2006, 11:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Question

HVAC-Duct work and Furnace Question


Should have waited, should have bought a newer house. But this is the one i bought 120+ years old. I have a forced hot air Furnace not much heat on the 2nd floor and for the time being am trying to get heat to 4 to 5 rooms and a Return to the 2nd floor without building alot of Soffets to store the duct work. there's 7" tall by 13" wide openings between the ceiling and floor from 1st floor to 2nd between the joists. and i'm in the middle of gutting a room on the 1st floor which would allow me to put some square duct work in between the studs (if possible) and get it up to the 2nd floor without loosing usable space. What i would really love to do is to do away with the Forced hot air and go with Bassboard heat. The Furnace is a fairelly new OIL Burning furnace and i don't know if it can be converted from forced hot air to hot water for the baseboard heat. I really don't know what my questions are but i have a picture in my head and lots of before and after pictures of the house of what it was before and what it is now. It's come along way but i hate cutting into these hard wood floors for registers and would love to preserve them if at all possible. Any help,ideas,etc with this would be greatly appreciated..thanks

Mike

Advertisement


Last edited by MikesProjectHouse; 10-27-2006 at 11:56 PM.
MikesProjectHouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2006, 08:19 PM   #2
Thoroughbred Mopar Man
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South/East Kansas
Posts: 638
Rewards Points: 500
Default

HVAC-Duct work and Furnace Question


Hi MikesProjectHouse

You kind of shot us a loaded question. If you already have a central system downstairs and you want to use it to heat the upstairs. The first thing you need to do is find out if its big enough to do the job. The second thing I would suggest is figure out what you are willing to settle with. If you have room to do put a seperate system in the upstairs. I would happen to fall into this same category. The main part of my house was built in 1898 and the last addition was added in 1924. Its a beautiful old house, I installed two Carrier 90 plus furnaces with two R410A heat pumps. I take advantage of the dual fuel operation. But enough about my house, it was hard for me but I had to settle with what was important for both us and the house. The other thing I would not do is settle for crap equipment. Hope some of this helps make your decisions a little easier.

Good luck
Rusty

Advertisement

#CARRIERMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Furnace main burner goes out after 5 seconds Da_Bears HVAC 8 01-03-2012 02:24 AM
Rehab Mess- Ducts Knocking-Furnace Vibrating drmark7 HVAC 7 03-18-2007 05:34 PM
duct sizing Stu HVAC 2 12-22-2006 06:36 PM
Can I use duct tape? Dusty HVAC 2 09-27-2006 09:28 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts