HVAC Condensor Fan Outside Intermittant - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 05-04-2012, 12:15 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 75

HVAC condensor fan outside intermittant

I've got 2 units and noticed a few days ago, while the downstairs unit cycled on, the air was warm. And got warmer. Didn't get cold quickly. Ran outside and saw the blower/fan motor on top was not turning.

Quickly ran inside, turned the unit off with the T-stat. Went outside, spun the motor by hand, it is smooth. No roughness or binding.

Go inside, flip the unit on with the T-stat, motor outside turns on and runs fine. Inside temps coming out of the duct are around 45F, inside temps around 75F and outside around 70F. Same for the upstairs unit, so the downstairs unit seems to be OK even after running with no blower for 3 mins or so.

I'm new to electrical. Don't know anything save for doing basic wiring and even then I have to follow books step by step.

Took the cover off the unit and looked at the cap - contacts were covered in rust from the fan motor. Aha! I think. Cleaned it off and good to go for 3 days. Now again, tonight, blowing warm air and fan outside is not moving, but you can clearly hear the compressor inside working. So I don't think it's the compressor.

Also - the below cap - I believe runs BOTH the fan and compressor, correct? It's a dual purpose cap? Which is odd that the compressor starts, but the fan does not. Almost makes me think the fan motor might be the issue. I have to replace the cap anyway if replacing the fan motor so might as well replace it but would like to know how to test the cap to see if it's OK. If it's OK then I'll call a tech but my guess is the fan motor is bad.

Thoughts? Where to go from here? Luckily we have two units so I can troubleshoot a bit before calling a pro.

Before cleaning:

After: