Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-11-2013, 08:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Maryland
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

HVAC blower not running


My AC came on today, but I noticed nothing was coming out of the vents. I could hear the condenser running outside, and sure enough it was. The condenser fan was working...I'm assuming the compressor was working as well. It had been on for a few minutes, and I noticed the one refrigerant line was frosty. I was looking at the HVAC unit in the basement, and I noticed the blower wasn't running. I turned the AC off, and turned the heat on. The heat kicked on right away, but no blower. I tried just turning the fan to "on" from the thermostat...nothing. I have a forced air system, gas heat, electric AC. So, is the blower motor bad? Is there a relay or other electrical component that blew up? Any quick/easy way to tell?

mreber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 10:30 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Default

HVAC blower not running


yep.... use a meter and see if the motor has power to it.....

carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 10:35 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 15
Default

HVAC blower not running


Is it 208/230 are 120?
Were do fan wires pug in to. A board are a relay.
spider79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2013, 11:47 PM   #4
Experienced HVAC Tech
 
HVAC1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Northern Colorado
Posts: 357
Default

HVAC blower not running


also use your meter to check the MFDs of the capacitor. if it is just the capacior it will save you the costly replacement of the whole motor plus the capacitor
HVAC1000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 01:55 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Posts: 729
Default

HVAC blower not running


Quote:
Originally Posted by spider79 View Post
Were do fan wires pug in to. A board are a relay.

um...what?
Seattle2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2013, 02:08 AM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 15
Default

HVAC blower not running


Do fan wire go to a circuit board are a relay? If u can power the motor direct to see if it comes on. If its 120 then keep common were its at then hook black wire to 120 side of contactor. Power up if motor comes on then its not ur motor. If don't cone on then check capacitor. Let us know what u find.

spider79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blower motor shuts off while condenser is still running redheaddmsu HVAC 1 08-24-2011 03:17 PM
Wiring help on HVAC blower for Air Filtration oxicottin Electrical 0 03-20-2011 02:34 PM
hvac blower vs capacitor, does my conclusion make sense? Lalan64 HVAC 2 07-17-2010 08:24 AM
Trane Furnace Blower Running Nearly Continuously stephensandlin HVAC 3 01-03-2010 01:21 AM
HVAC system heat won't run with standby generator running... PTighe Electrical 70 09-14-2009 05:35 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.