Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-18-2012, 09:34 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
Share |
Default

HVAC Blower motor inop.


Hi,
I have a 2002 ICP Tempstar Model# NTG3100GFG1 HVAC unit, the blower fan stopped working yesterday.
The fan does not operate on Cool, Heat or Fan
Using the schematic I traced source voltage to the control board and it's good.
Then I measured voltage at both the "cool" and "heat" fan headers on the circuit board while holding the interlock switch closed. The reading on both headers was around 3V AC
Is this the proper voltage to run this blower?

Thanks for any and all help

Conlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 09:47 PM   #2
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

HVAC Blower motor inop.


You need to test the continuity Between W - and W - BK ..... if it is ok the furnace control board is bad.

Doesn't show any led error code?

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JJboy For This Useful Post:
Conlan (06-19-2012)
Old 06-18-2012, 10:06 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
Default

HVAC Blower motor inop.


Thanks for the quick reply

There is no WH/BK wire on this blower motor ...the wire colors are:
1-White
1-Black
1-Red
1-Orange
1-Blue
2-Brown

so I checked continuity between the WH and BK wires and got 1.4 ohms.

There is no LED readout on this unit and the T/Stat is a replacement (Hunter) unit
Conlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 10:18 PM   #4
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

HVAC Blower motor inop.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Conlan View Post
Thanks for the quick reply

There is no WH/BK wire on this blower motor ...the wire colors are:
1-White - Neutral
1-Black - Cool
1-Red - Unused
1-Orange - Heat
1-Blue - Unused
2-Brown - Capacitor

so I checked continuity between the WH and BK wires and got 1.4 ohms.

There is no LED readout on this unit and the T/Stat is a replacement (Hunter) unit
Check if you have this configuration...... WH - O ( Heat ) should be less the 1.4 ohms.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JJboy For This Useful Post:
Conlan (06-19-2012)
Old 06-18-2012, 10:21 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Default

HVAC Blower motor inop.


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
Check if you have this configuration...... WH - O ( Heat ) should be less the 1.4 ohms.


you have me confused.... not hard to do mind you
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 10:47 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
Default

HVAC Blower motor inop.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Conlan View Post
Thanks for the quick reply

There is no WH/BK wire on this blower motor ...the wire colors are:
1-White
1-Black
1-Red
1-Orange
1-Blue
2-Brown

so I checked continuity between the WH and BK wires and got 1.4 ohms.

There is no LED readout on this unit and the T/Stat is a replacement (Hunter) unit
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
Check if you have this configuration...... WH - O ( Heat ) should be less the 1.4 ohms.
Yessir...that IS my configuration

WH - OG resistance is 2.0 ohms
Conlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 10:52 PM   #7
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

HVAC Blower motor inop.


Looks like the motor is ok.....check the capacitor......just for make sure....you can hook up the motor by passing the board controller.....
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JJboy For This Useful Post:
Conlan (06-19-2012)
Old 06-18-2012, 11:06 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
Default

HVAC Blower motor inop.


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
Looks like the motor is ok.....check the capacitor......just for make sure....you can hook up the motor by passing the board controller.....
Oh...I thought you were saying the motor was bad because the resistance was higher than expected. My bad

Not sure how to check this capacitor...any hints?

Also I was wondering....I thought this board had a transformer on it...isn't the blower motor a DC motor? If so, I can only read AC, not DC from the fan control header.

Thanks
Conlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2012, 11:18 PM   #9
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

HVAC Blower motor inop.


This is AC motor not DC. You need a multimeter with MFD to check your capacitor.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JJboy For This Useful Post:
Conlan (06-19-2012)
Old 06-19-2012, 05:57 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

HVAC Blower motor inop.


The board should be sending 120V to the motor not 3V.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Marty S. For This Useful Post:
Conlan (06-19-2012)
Old 06-19-2012, 08:05 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
Default

HVAC Blower motor inop.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty S. View Post
The board should be sending 120V to the motor not 3V.
Thanks, 3V seemed awfully low to me.

So...since source voltage to the board is OK and I'm only getting 3V @ the "COOL" and "HEAT" board headers w/ the interlock switch closed and the T/Stat in the "Cool", "Heat" or "Run" positions respectively, I can assume that the Blower Fan Relay on the board is defective and need a new board...correct?

Thanks
Conlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 07:49 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
Default

HVAC Blower motor inop.


I got it figured out

Realizing there is 115V @ the interlock switch, I hooked up the BK "COOL" lead from the blower motor to the load side of the switch, closed the switch and the fan runs.

So, since I can hear the Fan relay "click" (close) but only 3V comes out of the header, I must have a bad relay (board)...I hope...lol

Can anyone recommend a good place to buy one online, I live in the sticks

Thanks for the replies and help.
Conlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 07:54 PM   #13
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

HVAC Blower motor inop.


If you post a picture or the board controller number will help a lot.
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 08:05 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 11
Default

HVAC Blower motor inop.


Quote:
Originally Posted by JJboy View Post
If you post a picture or the board controller number will help a lot.

Honeywell # ST9120C4057
HQ1011927HW
Conlan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2012, 08:39 PM   #15
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Default

HVAC Blower motor inop.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Conlan View Post
Honeywell # ST9120C4057
HQ1011927HW

http://www.ebay.com/itm/ICP-Heil-Tem...-/370316863962

__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JJboy For This Useful Post:
Conlan (06-19-2012)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant Plus 90 - No Blower Ducaticorse HVAC 11 10-16-2012 08:39 PM
Help with HVAC blower motor wiring Jcpilot Electrical 4 03-18-2012 02:28 PM
separate switch for blower in HVAC system lettersoup HVAC 3 11-11-2011 10:13 AM
Goodman HVAC system blower stuck on? OhNoes HVAC 14 09-03-2011 07:32 PM
hvac blower vs capacitor, does my conclusion make sense? Lalan64 HVAC 2 07-17-2010 08:24 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.