Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-14-2011, 05:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

HVAC in basement


I am finishing basement bedrooms and adding bath. 1 built around any of the hvac that is ran to vents but the big cold air return extends all the way across the room. I am wondering if I can shorten it to accomidate closet? and the system that runs across to the vents on other side of the house is a 8X24 sytem that is supplying 3 vents. I want to shorten the cold air return and the supply 8x24 into a 8 x 12 supply?

if I didnt explain it properly sorry, Im new to HVAC.

Shawn

Shawnzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 06:06 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,758
Rewards Points: 6
Default

HVAC in basement


Simply shortening a run is not a concern on either end but making the diameter of the run smaller is a serious hazard to your a/c system's health.

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 06:33 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

HVAC in basement


Ok so I can shorten the cold air return thanks!.. now the big supply is reduced 6ft into the room into the 8 x 12 line... the big 8x24 has 3 runs off of it and where it is reduced into 8 x 12 it has 4 runs off of it? seems kind of odd?

What kind of area can the cold air return be closed into to still efficient to supply A/C system. I want to build a 6ft long by 3ft deep by 6' high closet and hoping that will be sufficient enough for the cold air return so I can tuck it away in closet? I have seen them many times in closets not very big but I dont want to take a chance so im curious.

Thanks Shawn
Shawnzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 07:09 PM   #4
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,758
Rewards Points: 6
Default

HVAC in basement


depends on the size of the system. By closet I'm taking vertical unit on a platform with a big square hole cut out under it to a return air grill (with a filter) on the wall in front of it? Is that right?
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 07:23 PM   #5
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,758
Rewards Points: 6
Default

HVAC in basement


http://www.comfort-calc.net/cfm_chart.html

your system needs to move a certain total cfm to be efficient. Each size duct allows a certain cfm to the room it supplies, reducing or deducting from the total cfm supplied by said system until it's all used up.

i don't know what your system size is or what your duct work sizing is like sitting from here.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2011, 07:15 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

HVAC in basement


The duct size is 18 x 8. I have some pictures now, I want to shorten the cold air return, and run the 18x8 trunk on a couple quick 45's or 22's whatever I can get my hands on and run it along the wall so I only have to make a small 18inch soffit rather then a 40 inch sofit which kills the space in the room.
Attached Thumbnails
HVAC in basement-2525.jpg   HVAC in basement-9898.jpg   HVAC in basement-98797.jpg   HVAC in basement-65654.jpg  

Shawnzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to - prevent basement mold crazymountain How To Guides 36 07-23-2014 06:02 PM
DIY relocation of HVAC ducts cbrc5eric HVAC 6 05-26-2011 08:29 PM
Drastically Different Basement HVAC Instal Costs ... Why? sTiZZiT Off Topic 7 11-27-2010 06:35 PM
Need HVAC solution for basement - 3 zone? or ductless units? skylake HVAC 2 10-06-2009 07:42 PM
Basement HVAC lhempel HVAC 1 12-02-2007 08:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.