Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 10-08-2010, 09:34 PM   #1

Share |

HVAC air intake relocation newbie question

Hi, i'm trying to move a wall back about 2ft in the basement. The move is necessary because the space the wall is dividing is essentially un-usable. I'm new to moving HVAC systems but oterhwise consider myself pretty handy so i'll attempt to move it back as a DIY project.

can the guru's chime in and help me with

1. identifying the purpose of this air intake?

2. if the drop is really necessary? meaning if i can simply cut the circular pipe and not have a drop in the new wall

3. if moving it that close to the boiler pose a code violation?

please see pics below. the red line is where i want to frame up the new wall. tx

existing setup

exiting setup otherside of the wall

taking a picture to ensure that there isn't anything inside

where i want to put the new wall

another angle look at the new and old wall (new is new wall location)
vote4Pedro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 10:08 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing

that appears to be a return air for that room. I also assume ( cant see where the round goes) that round pile takes the return air back to the furnace. do you still need a return for that room ? if so and just want to move it back . make sure you seal all the joints good.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2010, 11:28 PM   #3

i'm guessing it's a return. when the ac is on, i didn't feel any exhaust from that hole. do you think it's okay if i just cut the pipe and use an air filter in front of it? side question, why did they build such a large air return for the basement? seems to be a lot of work
Old 10-09-2010, 06:19 AM   #4
HVAC / Plumbing