Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-16-2011, 09:18 AM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 21
Share |
Default

hvac


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
look on the back of one of the doors or by the wiring diagram for a list of codes
Last thing before checing cracked heat exchanger how do I check pressure switch at for draft inducer.I have 3 blinking leds which indicate pressure switch. i tried jumping wires to pressure switch and unit wouldnt turn on .ther must be a way or is it a sequence of on and of
thanks paul.today and yesterday unit worked fine..now confused
thanks paul

paulat120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2011, 03:30 PM   #17
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,058
Default

hvac


If it is tripping a pressure switch that could be related to a badly cracked heat exchanger so now you REALLY need to get it PROPERLY checked by a Pro.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 10:41 AM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 21
Default

hvac


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
If it is tripping a pressure switch that could be related to a badly cracked heat exchanger so now you REALLY need to get it PROPERLY checked by a Pro.
thanks I will
paulat120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 10:43 AM   #19
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

hvac


3 lights meaning stuck open or stuck closed?
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 11:01 AM   #20
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

hvac


either the inducer motor is weak and not closing the switch, the hose that connects the inducer to the pressure switch is blocked or cracked, the pressure switch is bad - stuck open or closed (possibly only needs a paper clip stuck into the tube port to clear out possible debris, do that at the inducer port as well) - or you have a crack in the heat exchanger which would not allow the pressure switch to close.
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 07:23 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 21
Default

hvac


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
either the inducer motor is weak and not closing the switch, the hose that connects the inducer to the pressure switch is blocked or cracked, the pressure switch is bad - stuck open or closed (possibly only needs a paper clip stuck into the tube port to clear out possible debris, do that at the inducer port as well) - or you have a crack in the heat exchanger which would not allow the pressure switch to close.
thanks for info. confused because the unit usually works fine all day but usually is in trouble mode( 3 blinking lights) after set back thermo turns it on in morning. changes during day seems to be fine also. I put a carbon monoxide detector in front of register and no sign. wouldnt there be monoxide if heat exchanger was cracked. I just ordered a pressure switch to try . I just replaced draft motor which was defective
any hints appreciated
Paul
paulat120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2011, 07:35 PM   #22
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,556
Default

hvac


pressure is checked in inches of water columns, wc. a magnahelic or a manometer is what is used to check wc. pressure switches require a certain wc to pull it closed. The required wc may or may not be printed on the switch itself. let's say yours needs .4" wc to close it but the draft inducer, checked by way of manometer, is only offering .2" wc. then the draft inducer needs to be changed. If that was the case the inducer would also be pulling a different, more than likely higher, amperage.

Next time your furnace acts up and with the light blinking pull the hose off at the inducer and continually suck through it. Yes, you can keep suctionon the hose and breathe at the same time as you will need to continually have suction on the hose, closing and keeping closed the pressure switch.

This will work, I gaurantee it but the question still remains, is it the pressure switch or the inducer? I guess we'll find out when you get the new switch in!
__________________
Thanks.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Doc Holliday For This Useful Post:
paulat120 (12-19-2011)
Old 12-20-2011, 04:18 AM   #23
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,531
Default

hvac


Quote:
wouldnt there be monoxide if heat exchanger was cracked.
No, cracks seldom put CO in the air stream while the fan is running.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
paulat120 (12-20-2011)
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Runaround - HVAC and HWH proper venting/exhaust denemante HVAC 24 04-05-2011 08:50 PM
moving HVAC system - can I go without gas for a few days? denemante HVAC 2 03-30-2011 04:55 AM
History of HVAC Industry Brands winkydink HVAC 8 03-25-2011 07:28 AM
Engineered Joists & holes for HVAC ducts walt1122 Building & Construction 3 07-04-2009 07:37 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.