Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-05-2012, 06:04 PM   #1
Member
 
kilosos2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 154
Share |
Default

Humidity control on Source 1 Thermostat Model S1-THSU32HP7S


Hey guys


I have bought a few Source1 S1-THSU32HP7S off ebay at super bargain price. These thermostats state that they have humidity control. I am more interested in the dehumidification function of these thermostats. They do have a dehum terminal on the base plate. But I am wondering will these thermostat just overcool on full speed or do they slow down the blower to dehumidify with variable speed air handlers. Also if they do slow down the blower, will the cfm speed (maybe a certain percentage of cooling cfm) be based off the control board on the air handler or the thermostat them selfs?
If its based off the thermostat at what percentage do the blower fan will run when running in that dehumidifying mode?

I am planning to install these thermostats in some Trane units my friends have. One Air handler is a TAM7A0C42H31SA ( this unit is badass) and the other one is a 2TEE3F49A1000A Air handler. Both have XR15 Condensers single stage compressors.

I see I need to hook it up to the BK terminal on the air handlers and remove some jumpers as the manual states for each air handler more or less. I am also going to test this out on my York unit. Its a MV Air handler with variable speed, although currently I have my Honeywell IAQ on there! So what do you guys think?

thanks
-kilo

(p.s. I am in hvac school currently and I am becoming a tech ,so I do have some hvac background and know how 24volt lines work)

Last edited by kilosos2; 03-05-2012 at 06:06 PM.
kilosos2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 06:04 AM   #2
Member
 
kilosos2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 154
Default

Humidity control on Source 1 Thermostat Model S1-THSU32HP7S


Anyone have experience using these thermostats? Haha, I can't get them to work on my York MV air handler.

Last edited by kilosos2; 03-06-2012 at 06:20 AM.
kilosos2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 06:40 AM   #3
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,313
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Humidity control on Source 1 Thermostat Model S1-THSU32HP7S


Why would you put that stat on Vs. your vision pro IAQ? Best advice to give you is to read the manual. A thermostat sends a signal to tell the unit what to do as far as "heat", "Cool", "Dehumidify with cooling". It does not tell the AHU what speed to run at. You also probably need to read the AHU manual. You need to do a lot more studying and learn how things work!
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 06:51 AM   #4
Member
 
kilosos2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 154
Default

Humidity control on Source 1 Thermostat Model S1-THSU32HP7S


I was installing this tstat just for testing purposes to see how it functions for dehumidification. I am still going to keep my Honeywell IAQ. I read my manual and try a few things but lolll , I can't get the tstat to call for cooling when the humidity has rise above the humidity set point. It maybe setting the polarity on the tstat and my control board for either NO or NC.

Last edited by kilosos2; 03-06-2012 at 06:55 AM.
kilosos2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 09:49 AM   #5
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,313
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Humidity control on Source 1 Thermostat Model S1-THSU32HP7S


It won't call for cooling just to remove humidity. It will call for a slower blower speed during an actual call for cooling. This is the same way your iaq works. It calls for slower blower speed by removing 24v on BK circuit.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 11:13 AM   #6
Member
 
kilosos2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 154
Default

Humidity control on Source 1 Thermostat Model S1-THSU32HP7S


I have seen my Honeywell IAQ call for cooling when the humidity goes up. It will stop cooling when it reaches its overcool limit. Well I am still testing around with the tstat and I will post back what I find out. It seems like there is no info anywhere on the Internet about this tstat.

Last edited by kilosos2; 03-06-2012 at 11:23 AM.
kilosos2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 01:46 PM   #7
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,313
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Humidity control on Source 1 Thermostat Model S1-THSU32HP7S


It does not work that way! Read the manual.
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 04:39 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,474
Default

Humidity control on Source 1 Thermostat Model S1-THSU32HP7S


You don't have something set right. It should cool to dehumidify.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 07:01 PM   #9
Member
 
kilosos2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 154
Default

Humidity control on Source 1 Thermostat Model S1-THSU32HP7S


Wussup Beenthere

Hehe, I was kinda waiting for to see this post. Well until now this is what I observed. If there is a call for cooling based on the set point temperature, after the set point is meet, it will continue cooling to satisfy for dehumidification. And overcool based on what I set the tstat setting which is 3 F over cool currently. I currently have it setup like this.

Control board ---- Tstat
Y---Y
Y2--Y2
W--W
R--R
C--C
G--G
HUM--DHUM , I also jumpered this terminal on the tstat to the R terminal of the tstat, although it doesn't say to do that in the manual of the tstat. But it does say that in my air handlers manual. (to connect the humidistat between R-HUM terminal of the control board)

There is a jumper on the control board for humistat that states:

The HUM STAT jumper configures the control to monitor the humidity
switch input. With the jumper in the NO position, the control will ener-
gize the HUM terminal with 24 VAC continually. With the jumper in the
YES position, the control will monitor the HUM input to control the HUM
OUT output to control an external humidifier.
If the jumper is not present, the control will operate as if the jumper is in
the YES position .


I have it on Yes position as I did for my Honeywell IAQ. (oh my Honeywell , poor thing is sitting there on the wall without any 24v's! , but only a little while)



Here's some more info from my manual:




HUMIDITY SWITCH INPUT Status and Fault Codes
The air handler control is designed to work with a humidity control that
closes when the humidity is below the set-point. The control is open
when the humidity is above the set-point. This humidity control may be

referred to as a humidistat or a dehumidistat.


The humidity switch controls both humidification and de-humidification
operation of the control. The control provides humidification using the
HUM OUT relay output and de-humidification by lowering the blower
speed. This is accomplished using the LOW FAN output and a field
installed two-speed fan relay kit for non-variable speed models and the
de-humidification input of the motor for variable speed models. The
humidity switch should be connected to the R and HUM terminals of the
control. See Figures 7 and 8 .


I know hvactech126 your saying it will slow the blower down while in a actual cooling call. It will actually state on the thermostat after the setpoint is reached that now it is "cooling to satisfy for dehum" I have seen the thermostat do that today. But it should also call for cooling when the humidity rises and the setpoint temperature hasn't changed.

The other thing maybe the polarity of the dehum terminal of the thermostat. I have it currently set at normally open. Which I think is correct.

From the tstat manual:
DEHUM Output Polarity (Setup Step 74)
Open (Normally Open) means no voltage is sent to the DEHUM output when there is
no demand to dehumidify.
Closed (Normally Closed) means voltage is sent to the DEHUM output when there is
no demand to dehumidify.
kilosos2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 07:04 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,474
Default

Humidity control on Source 1 Thermostat Model S1-THSU32HP7S


Don't jumper HUM and R in the stat.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2012, 07:22 PM   #11
Member
 
kilosos2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 154
Default

Humidity control on Source 1 Thermostat Model S1-THSU32HP7S


Ok, removed.
kilosos2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2012, 01:42 PM   #12
Member
 
kilosos2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 154
Default

Humidity control on Source 1 Thermostat Model S1-THSU32HP7S


Well I tested out the thermostat. I can't get it to turn on the AC and dehumidify on rise of Humidity. I see it will make a call of cooling and say it on the tstat but won't turn on the unit at all, But if the setpoint turns on the AC and after the setpoint is reached, it will continue cooling on low speed to reach the set RH percentage I selected. It will overcool or reach the RH setpoint. This is a nice thermostat, not bad for $31 and brand new. I wonder how it will work on the Trane units when I install them for my friends.

Thanks for everyone's help.

Last edited by kilosos2; 03-07-2012 at 01:45 PM.
kilosos2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 05:37 PM   #13
Member
 
kilosos2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 154
Default

Humidity control on Source 1 Thermostat Model S1-THSU32HP7S


Question for you guys here, again about this tstat. This tstat also has remote sensor terminals. I want to know can I use any remote sensor ? Or any type of temp sensor to hook up to this ? Its just a 2 wire connection. I got some honeywell C7189U temp sensor that I can use.
kilosos2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2012, 05:46 PM   #14
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,474
Default

Humidity control on Source 1 Thermostat Model S1-THSU32HP7S


Yes, its a standard 10,000 ohm at 77F sensor.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
kilosos2 (04-25-2012)
Old 04-25-2012, 06:26 PM   #15
Member
 
kilosos2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: South Florida
Posts: 154
Default

Humidity control on Source 1 Thermostat Model S1-THSU32HP7S


Thanks beenthere! Beenthere have you used this tstat before in the field?
kilosos2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help replacing an OLD General Controls Thermostat ohman HVAC 3 06-08-2011 05:35 PM
weathertron Mecury Thermostat VickiL HVAC 4 02-06-2011 04:32 PM
Air Source Heat Pump Lock-Out Control sydneysm HVAC 7 11-11-2010 04:58 PM
Upgraded to new Hunter model 44860 thermostat and now no emergency heat hlmaint HVAC 0 01-08-2010 01:17 PM
Humidity issues chapx HVAC 8 09-25-2009 04:11 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.